Skip links

An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn

An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn

Jim Hosking

Weird Love Triangle

United States, United Kingdom, 108', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Emile Hirsch, Jemaine Clement, Aubrey Plaza

The film
Lulu Danger is on the brink of depression. Unhappy with her unsatisfying, passionless, and monotonous marriage, she works at a second-class restaurant managed by her husband, who is more interested in money than in his wife. When she hears a magician named Beverly Luff Linn will soon be stopping by a neighbourhood hotel for one of his shows, she decides to leave everything behind and set off on an adventure.

Two years after the NIFFF patrons barely survived the electric shock that was The Greasy Strangler, Jim Hosking cements his status as an unparalleled world-builder with his second film. Trading slimy humour for bizarre situation comedy, the director leverages the talent of actors well-suited to his distinctive style. With legendary dance numbers and grunting scenes, An Evening With Beverly Luff Linn should effortlessly become the NIFFF 2018’s most cult film.

The director
A Sundance regular, Jim Hosking has made a ton of crazy commercials for MTV. His short film Renegades was shown in Sundance in 2010. He then took part in the ABCs of Death 2 (2014) anthology with his segment named G Is For Grandad. His impossibly bonkers universe conquers the whole planet with The Greasy Strangler, his first feature shown at the NIFFF 2016. His mannerisms and love for pastel colours make Jim Hosking a very odd version of Wes Anderson.

Skip links

An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn

An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn

Jim Hosking

Weird Love Triangle

United States, United Kingdom, 108', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 Jahr

Cast: Emile Hirsch, Jemaine Clement, Aubrey Plaza

Der Film
Lulu Danger steht kurz vor einer Depression. Sie lebt unglücklich in einer frustrierenden Ehe, in der die Leidenschaft längst der Monotonie gewichen ist, und sie arbeitet im zweitklassigen Restaurant ihres Mannes, welcher sich eher für Geld als für seine Gemahlin interessiert. Als sie erfährt, dass demnächst ein Magier namens Beverly Luff Linn in einem nahe gelegenen Hotel auftreten wird, lässt sie alles stehen und liegen und bricht auf ins Abenteuer.

Zwei Jahre nachdem er dem Neuenburger Publikum mit seinem Erstling The Greasy Strangler einen Schock verpasste, beweist Jim Hosking mit seinem zweiten Film, dass er wie nur wenige seiner Zeitgenossen eigenwillige Universen zu entwerfen vermag. Den schmierigen Humor hat der Regisseur nun eingetauscht gegen bizarre Situationskomik, und er kann sich dabei auf einen Cast stützen, der perfekt zur Abgedrehtheit seines Kinos passt. Mit seinen eindrücklichen Tanzszenen und Grunz(!)szenen könnte An Evening With Beverly Luff Linn durchaus zum kultigsten Film des NIFFF 2018 werden.

Der Regisseur
Der wiederholt in Sundance selektionierte Jim Hosking schuf zuerst eine Reihe witziger Werbespots für MTV. Sein Kurzfilm Renegades lief 2010 in Sundance. 2014 steuerte er zum Episodenfilm ABCs of Death 2 das Segment G Is For Grandad bei. Sein verrücktes Universum wurde der Welt mit seinem ersten Spielfilm vertraut, The Greasy Strangler, gezeigt am NIFFF 2016. Mit seinen Manierismen und seinem Hang zu Pastell-Farben lässt sich Jim Hosking beschreiben als ein äusserst bizarrer Verwandter von Wes Anderson.