Skip links

Climax

Climax

Gaspar Noé

Feverish Disco Vortex

France, 95', vo ENG/FRA, sub ENG, 16 Year

Cast: Romain Guillermic, Smile Kiddy, Sofia Boutella

The film
In 1996, a troupe of young dancers gather in an isolated community centre to celebrate the end of rehearsals before their American tour. A small buffet has been set up for the occasion. Behind the stage shines a huge glitter curtain that looks like the French flag. It is a time of partying, dancing, and insouciance. But when the heads start spinning, tempers flare. The sangria isn’t going down as well as anticipated…

Driven by the desire to film France’s best dancers, Gaspar Noe and his loyal DP Benoît Débie demonstrate once again the scale of their talent. Free from all limitations, the camera spins, rises, nosedives, and rotates masterfully. The astounding, nihilistic and Pasolinian approach turns the film into a danse macabre performed on an insane soundtrack. A mesmerizing, furious ballet that will blow your mind.

The director
Born in 1963 in Buenos Aires, Gaspar Noé arrives in France at the age of 12. After studying films and philosophy, he starts off as an assistant director. He is the cofounder of production studio Les Cinémas de la Zone. He is quickly nicknamed the enfant terrible of French cinema, creating movies with unequalled visual and technical skills. He wins the Narcisse award for best picture at the NIFFF 2010 for Enter the Void. Climax marks his return to the International Competition.

Skip links

Climax

Climax

Gaspar Noé

Feverish Disco Vortex

France, 95', vo ENG/FRA, sub ENG, 16 Jahr

Cast: Romain Guillermic, Smile Kiddy, Sofia Boutella

Der Film
1996 trifft sich eine junge Tanztruppe in einem entlegenen Festsaal, um das Ende der Proben und den Start der US-Tournee zu feiern. Zum Anlass wurde ein kleines Buffet organisiert. Auf der Bühne glitzert ein riesiger Pailletten-Vorhang in den Farben Frankreichs. Das Stimmungsbarometer signalisiert Fest, Tanz und Sorglosigkeit. Doch in den Köpfen setzt Schwindel ein, und Aufregung macht sich breit. Hat jemand was in die Sangria geworfen?

Entstanden durch die Idee, die besten Tänzerinnen und Tänzer Frankreichs zu filmen, beweist Climax erneut das immense Talent von Noé und seinem treuen Kameramann Benoît Débie. Befreit von jeglichem Zwang wirbelt die Kamera herum, erhebt sich und stürzt ab, segelt mit faszinierender Maestria durch den Raum. In einer verblüffend nihilistischen, pasolinihaften Art verwandelt sich die Party zunehmend in einen Totentanz mit Höllensoundtrack. Ein wildes, hypnotisches Ballett ohne Rücksicht auf die Netzhaut.

Der Regisseur
Der 1963 in Buenos Aires geborene Gaspar Noé kam als Zwölfjähriger nach Frankreich. Nach seinem Film- und Philosophiestudium arbeitete er als Regieassistent und war Mitbegründer der Produktionsfirma Les Cinémas de la Zone. Schon früh nannte man ihn das Enfant Terrible des französischen Kinos. Dabei stellt jeder seiner Filme ein visuelles Kompositionsvermögen und ein technisches Können unter Beweis, das in Frankreich sonst unerreicht ist. Am NIFFF 2010 gewann er der den Narcisse für den besten Film für Enter the Void. Mit Climax ist er zurück im internationalen Wettbewerb.