Skip links

Cutterhead

Cutterhead

Rasmus Kloster Bro

Claustrophobic Survival

Denmark, 84', vo DAN, sub ENG/FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Christine Sønderris, Krešimir Mikic, Samson Semere
Contact: Danish Film Institute (DK)

The film
Rie is the PR manager of a new underground project. She goes to the huge construction site to ask the staff some questions. As she monitors the operations, alarms start sounding. Something is wrong. Panic spreads, and Rie finds shelter in a pressurized airlock with two workers. Trapped in this confined space with dwindling reserves of air and water, they will soon discover that fighting for survival implies letting out one’s baser instincts.

Claustrophobes beware: Cutterhead is going to test your limits! With his first feature film, Rasmus Kloster Bro explores the darkest recesses of the human species through a suffocating huis clos in which mud and sweat hide a contemporarily potent allegory. Its striking visuals and decaying characters make it a harrowing experience that provokes physical reactions that are difficult to forget.

The director
Danish director Rasmus Kloster Bro was born in 1985 in the North West of Jutland. He studied at the Danish Film School Super16 before going into fiction radio shows, short films, music videos, and video installations. His films Kiss My Brother (2010) and Barvalo (2012) won several festival awards. Cutterhead, which is receiving its world premiere at the NIFFF, was financed through a new programme from the Danish Film Institute, dedicated to helping young filmmakers make their first feature.

Skip links

Cutterhead

Cutterhead

Rasmus Kloster Bro

Claustrophobic Survival

Denmark, 84', vo DAN, sub ENG/FRA, 16 Jahr

Cast: Christine Sønderris, Krešimir Mikic, Samson Semere
Kontakt: Danish Film Institute (DK)

Der Film
Weil sie die PR-Arbeit für eine im Bau befindliche U-Bahn übernommen hat, begibt sich Rie auf eine immense Baustelle, um dort das Personal zu befragen. Sie verfolgt eine Aktion, als plötzlich Alarmsirenen erklingen. Irgendwas läuft schief. Während sich Panik ausbreitet, findet sich Rie in einer Druckluftschleuse wieder, wo sich zwei Bauarbeiter aufhalten. Gefangen auf engstem Raum und mit schwindenden Luft- und Wasserreserven wird ihnen bewusst, dass der Kampf ums Überleben niederste menschliche Instinkte zutage fördert.

Menschen mit Platzangst, seid gewarnt: Cutterhead könnte für heftige Schweissausbrüche sorgen. In seinem ersten Spielfilm erkundet Rasmus Kloster Bro die finstersten Winkel der menschlichen Seele. In einem erdrückenden Kammerspiel verbirgt sich hinter Schlamm und Schweiss eine Allegorie von hoher Aktualität. Mit seiner aggressiven Ästhetik und seinen Figuren im Zersetzungszustand gelingt ihm ein furchterregender Film, der schwer vergessliche physische Zustände auslöst.

Der Regisseur
Der Däne Rasmus Kloster Bro, Jahrgang 1985, stammt aus dem Nordwesten der Region Jütland. Er studierte an der dänischen Filmschule Super16 und arbeitete danach an Hörspielen, Kurzfilmen, Clips und Video-Installationen. Seine Filme Kiss My Brother (2010) und Barvalo (2012) gewannen mehrere Preise an Festivals. Cutterhead, am NIFFF zu sehen als Weltpremiere, wurde finanziert durch ein neues Stipendium des Danish Film Institute, das jungen Filmschaffenden einen rascheren Zugang zum Langfilmformat ermöglichen soll.