Skip links

Diamantino

Diamantino

Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt

Ultimate FIFA World Cup Alternative

Portugal, France, Brazil, 92', vo POR, sub FRA/ENG, 14 Year

Cast: Carloto Cotta, Carla Maciel, Filipe Vargas

The film
Slicked back hair, Apollo’s body, diamond earrings… Diamantino is the greatest soccer star. Guided by visions of giant poodles, he goes right through every defence on Earth. But one day, his gift simply vanishes during the World Cup’s final game. Thus starts a perilous existential journey for Ronaldo’s spiritual twin.

Diamantino is a pop maelstrom that blends all genres and aesthetic trends. The directing duo sets their sight on – and sets aflame! – everything they can: crime film, science-fiction, romance, political tale, neo fascism, migrant crisis, transhumanism, and giant dogs live alongside each other in scope as well as in 16 mm. Imagine if Kenneth Anger had engineered a mix between a classic Hollywood comedy and Zoolander. Needless to say, the end result is legendary, but also simultaneously naive and tender. No actual soccer game will ever be as exciting!

The directors
Gabriel Abrantes and Daniel Schmidt – dark-haired Portuguese and blond American, respectively – were born in the USA in 1984. Gabriel studied the fine arts in a New York public school, while Daniel went to the city’s Tish School of Arts. They met in 2006 and started collaborating on short and medium-length films that get noticed. Diamantino, their first feature, was shown at Cannes’ International Critics’ Week.

Skip links

Diamantino

Diamantino

Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt

Ultimate FIFA World Cup Alternative

Portugal, France, Brazil, 92', vo POR, sub FRA/ENG, 14 Jahr

Cast: Carloto Cotta, Carla Maciel, Filipe Vargas

Der Film
Pomade im Haar, Adoniskörper, Diamant am Ohr: Diamantino ist eine Bilderbuch-Fussballlegende. Gigantischen Hunden folgend, die nur er sieht, durchbricht er jede Verteidigung – bis er ausgerechnet am WM-Final von seinen Kräften verlassen wird. Für den Ronaldo-Doppelgänger beginnt eine verrückte Irrfahrt, bei der es um alles geht – oder nichts.

Diamantino ist ein Meteorit am Popkulturhimmel, ein Strudel, in dem alle möglichen Genres und ästhetischen Ansätze aufeinanderprallen. Das Regie-Duo saugt auf und spuckt aus, was es nur kann: Krimi, SF, Liebesfilm, politische Fabel, Neofaschismus, Migrationskrise, Transhumanismus und Riesenköter treffen in Scope und 16mm aufeinander. Man stelle sich Kenneth Anger vor, der im Labor eine klassische Hollywoodkomödie mit Zoolander kreuzt. Wenig überraschend also, dass dabei ein schon fast mystisches Spektakel herauskommt, in dem aber auch Naivität und Zärtlichkeit ihren Platz haben. Aufregender als jeder Match an der Fussball-WM!

Die Regisseure
Sie wurden 1984 in den USA geboren. «Sie», das sind Gabriel Abrantes und Daniel Schmidt. Der erste ist Portugiese, der zweite Amerikaner. Der eine hat braunes, der andere blondes Haar. Während Gabriel Kunst an einer Gratischule in New York studierte, besuchte Daniel die Tish School of Arts in derselben Stadt. 2006 begegneten sich die jungen Männer und drehten gemeinsam Kurzfilme, mit denen sie rasch auf sich aufmerksam machten. Diamantino, ihr erster Spielfilm, wurde an der Semaine de la critique in Cannes gezeigt.