Skip links

Hereditary

Hereditary

Ari Aster

Instant Classic Ultimate Horror

United States, 120', vo ENG, sub FRA/DEU, 16 Year

Cast: Toni Collette, Gabriel Byrne, Alex Wolff

The film
It all starts with a funeral. Annie Graham just lost her mother Ellen. Surprised at how little sadness she feels, she begins to think of her family ties. Why did Ellen take so much interest in her granddaughter, a child whose anxiety transpires through asymmetrical features and the haunted look in her eyes? What were the matriarch’s enigmatic rituals all about? To solve those mysteries, Annie convinces her family to move into the deceased’s house, a nest of secrets they’d had probably better leave buried. The Grahams will soon learn that the family heritage can be a burden to bear.

Unpredictable, nerve-racking, radical… Hereditary is a shock that is hard to accurately describe. By conjuring an incredible sense of suspense and using dizzying variations of scales, Ari Aster offers up a nightmarish vision of the family unit. No film had thus managed to strike fear at the very heart of its audience since The Exorcist! You are warned.

The director
After completing his studies at the American Film Institute, Ari Aster makes a name for himself in 2011 at the Slamdance Film Festival, thanks to The Strange Thing About the Johnsons. This very controversial short film is about the incestuous relationship of an African American family. Five short films later, the New Yorker is causing a sensation thanks to his first feature. With the universally acclaimed Hereditary, Aster has entered the running for the title of new horror master.

Skip links

Hereditary

Hereditary

Ari Aster

Instant Classic Ultimate Horror

United States, 120', vo ENG, sub FRA/DEU, 16 Jahr

Cast: Toni Collette, Gabriel Byrne, Alex Wolff

Der Film
Es beginnt mit einer Beerdigung: Annie Graham hat soeben ihre Mutter Ellen verloren. Sie wundert sich, dass sie kaum Trauer empfindet, und hinterfragt ihre Familienbeziehungen. Wieso interessierte sich Ellen so stark für ihre Enkelin – ein Mädchen, dessen Angst in seinen asymetrischen Zügen und seinem gespenstischen Blick durchschimmert? Worum ging es bei den mysteriösen Ritualen der Matriarchin? Um das herauszufinden, ziehen Annie und ihre Familie ins Haus der Toten – wo Geheimnisse lauern, die besser geheim geblieben wären. Die Grahams stellen fest, dass ein Familienerbe manchmal schwer zu tragen sein kann.

Unvorhersehbar, extrem furchteinflössend, radikal… Es lässt sich kaum beschreiben, was Hereditary für einen Schock auslöst. Mit einem perfekten Sinn für Spannung und einem schwindelerregenden Spiel mit den Ebenen lässt uns Ari Aster teilhaben an einer alptraumhaften Vision der Familie. Seit The Exorcist hat kein Film mehr soviel Schrecken verbreitet. Soviel als Warnung.

Der Regisseur
Nach seinem Studium am American Film Institute machte Ari Aster 2011 am Slamdance Film Festival mit The Strange Thing About the Johnsons auf sich aufmerksam. Der hochgradig kontroverse Kurzfilm zeigte eine inzestuöse Beziehung in einer afroamerikanischen Familie. Heute, nach fünf weiteren Kurzfilmen, sorgt der New Yorker Regisseur mit seinem ersten Spielfilm für einen interstellaren Buzz. Der überall gelobte Film Hereditary macht aus ihm einen Anwärter auf den Thron des neuen Master of Horror.