Skip links

Kasane – Beauty and Fate

Kasane – Beauty and Fate

Satô Yûichi

Shakespearean Dark Tale

Japan, 100', vo JPN, sub FRA/ENG, 14 Year

Cast: Yokoyama Yu, Tsuchiya Tao, Yoshine Kyôko

The film
Kasane dreams of a life on stage, but a huge face scar prevents her from showing off her natural talent. Everything changes when she inherits a magical lipstick from her mother, which allows her to take on the appearance of the people she kisses. It’s obviously too good an opportunity to pass up, so she makes a strange deal with the beautiful Nina, an aspiring actress. But how far is Kasane prepared to go to keep Nina’s face?

This adaptation of the successful Kasane manga combines Japanese folklore with Western dramaturgy to explore the Shakespearean torments of the characters, played by two wonderful young actresses. Their ambivalent, poisonous relationship will reach unimaginable intensity as the truth will force them to drop the act. Let this remind you why black magic always comes with suffering…

The director
55-year-old Satô Yûichi was born in Tokyo. His manga adaptations have made him a household name in Japan. In 2015, he directed Poison Berry In My Brain, a delightful romantic comedy about a 30-something confused by the many voices she hears. A prolific and versatile filmmaker, he has worked for the film and television industries. This is his take on mangaka Matsuura Daruma’s thought-provoking series.

Skip links

Kasane – Beauty and Fate

Kasane – Beauty and Fate

Satô Yûichi

Shakespearean Dark Tale

Japan, 100', vo JPN, sub FRA/ENG, 14 Jahr

Cast: Yokoyama Yu, Tsuchiya Tao, Yoshine Kyôko

Der Film
Kasane träumt von einer Bühnenkarriere – aber eine Gesichtsnarbe entstellt ihr Anlitz und überschattet ihr Talent. Als sie von ihrer Mutter einen magischen Lippenstift erbt, ändert sich alles: Dieser Stift ermöglicht es ihr, das Aussehen der Person zu übernehmen, die sie küsst. Eine Gelegenheit also, die in ihr schlummernde Schauspielerin aufblühen zu lassen. Sie trift eine seltsame Abmachung mit der hübschen Möchtegern-Actrice Nina. Aber wie weit wird die ehrgeizige Kasane gehen, um Ninas Gesicht behalten zu können?

In der Adaptation des gleichnamigen Erfolgs-Mangas verweben sich japanische Folklore-Legenden mit einer westlichen Dramaturgie rund um die shakespearschen Qualen der beiden Hauptfiguren, welche beide von hervorragenden Darstellerinnen verkörpert werden. Als die Masken fallen, wird der Blick frei auf ein faszinierendes, doppelbödiges Spiel, welches die ambivalente, vergiftete Beziehung zwischen den beiden Figuren mit Intensität auflädt. Zur Erinnerung: Der Einsatz von schwarzer Magie zieht fast immer Unglück nach sich…

Der Regisseur
Der 55-jährige Satô Yûichi wurde in Tokyo geboren. Seine Manga-Verfilmungen geniessen in Japan einen guten Ruf. 2015 inszenierte er etwa Poison Berry in My Brain, eine ausgelassene romantische Komödie über eine Dreissigjährige, deren Liebesleben durch mehrere innere Stimmen erschwert wird. Als fleissiger Macher ohne Berührungsängste dreht er sowohl fürs Fernsehen als auch fürs Kino. Diesmal widmet er sich den unheimlichen Geschichten des Erfolgsmangakas Matsuura Daruma.