Skip links

Luz

Luz

Tilman Singer

Hypnotic Possession Tale

Germany, 70', vo SPA/DEU, sub ENG/FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Jan Bluthardt, Johannes Benecke, Lilli Lorenz

The film
At a bar, Nora intoxicates and charms a police psychiatrist. An easy prey, he soon becomes the new vessel for the demon in Nora’s body, who is getting closer to the object of his desire. In the meantime, Luz, a young taxi driver who has been hurt and is disoriented, goes to a police station before launching into strange prayers. The aforementioned psychiatrist is called in. Under the police’s supervision, he hypnotizes her in order to get her statement. A spiritual journey ensues…

Past, present, fantasies, and realities intertwine in this mesmerizing film where sounds and repetitions create an accented atmosphere and call on the audience to use their senses intensely. The beautiful score adds to this unique experience. The film was shot entirely at night on 16 mm. With its fresh take on possession, this poetic and harrowing thriller reinvents his sensory stimuli on a constant basis. A special, enthralling kind of film.

The director
Born in 1988, young German artist Tilman Singer went to the Cologne Academy of Media Arts in 2011, where he studied directing, writing, sound design, and animation. He directed several short films (some in stop motion animation), as well as music videos and commercials. Selected at the Berlinale, Luz is his debut feature, which he produced with the same collaborators he had on his previous projects, including his creative partner Dario Méndez Acosta.

Skip links

Luz

Luz

Tilman Singer

Hypnotic Possession Tale

Germany, 70', vo SPA/DEU, sub ENG/FRA, 16 Jahr

Cast: Jan Bluthardt, Johannes Benecke, Lilli Lorenz

Der Film
Am Bartresen betört und verführt Nora ohne Umschweife einen Polizeipsychiater. Er ist leichte Beute und wird zum neuen Gefäss, dass es ihrem inneren Dämon ermöglicht, sich dem Ziel seiner Begierde zu nähern. Gleichzeitig trifft die junge Taxichauffeurin Luz verletzt und verwirrt auf einem Polizeiposten ein. Sie intoniert seltsame Gebete. Der Psychiater stösst zu ihr. Umgeben von seiner Kollegschaft versucht er, ihr unter Hypnose eine Zeugenaussage zu entlocken. Eine übernatürliche Reise beginnt…

Vergangenheit, Gegenwart, Wahn und Realität vermischen sich in diesem hypnotisierenden Film, in dem die Klänge und Wiederholungen eine erdrückende Atmosphäre schaffen und die Sinne des Publikums beansprucht werden. Auch der geniale Soundtack trägt bei zur einzigartigen Erfahrung dieses Films, der ausschliesslich nachts und auf 16mm-Film gedreht wurde. Wie nie zuvor wird von Bessenheit erzählt in diesem poetischen, unheimlichen Thriller, dessen sinnliches Universum sich ständig neu erfindet. Eigenwillig, aber fesselnd.

Der Regisseur
Der 1988 geborene deutsche Filmemacher studierte 2011 an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln, wo er sich nicht nur in Regie, sondern auch in Drehbuchschreiben, Sound Design und Animation ausbilden liess. Er inszenierte mehrere Kurzfilme – darunter auch Stop-Motion-Ideen – sowie Clips und Werbespots. Seinen für die Berlinale selektionierten ersten Spielfilm Luz hat er mit seiner «Filmfamilie» produziert, die auch an vergangenen Projekten mitwirkte, etwa mit seinem Kreativpartner Dario Méndez Acosta.