Skip links

Mandy

Mandy

Panos Cosmatos

Death Metal Revenge Splatter

United States, Belgium, 121', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Nicolas Cage, Linus Roache, Andrea Riseborough

The film
Red and Mandy live happily, away from civilisation in a cabin in the mountain woods. One day, a cult invades their land and their life changes for the worst. Jeremiah Sand, leader of the fanatics, has Mandy kidnapped, and ultimately killed. Left for dead, Red eventually awakes to the realisation that he has lost everything, including his sense of reality. Revenge is the only thing that remains. Enraged and armed to the teeth, he sets out on a bloody killing spree, determined to slay every last one of the cult members.

An unrecognisable Andrea Riseborough and a possessed Nicolas Cage make Mandy an out-of-this-world experience. The main actor’s surreal performance and the outrageously gore aspects of the film strengthen the psychedelic atmosphere and blur the limits of reality. An orgasmic, visceral revenge tale that borders on the supernatural and offers enthralling visuals.

The director
Son of George P. Cosmatos (Rambo II), Panos Cosmatos started out as a camera assistant on his father’s second-to-last film Tombstone (1993). He put on the director’s hat in 2010 for Beyond the Black Rainbow, a strange sci-fi thriller that boasts a fascinating cinematography and doesn’t go unnoticed. Mandy, his second feature, allows the Italian-Canadian director to deliver another visually stunning film that seems to be burning with angst from beginning to end.

Skip links

Mandy

Mandy

Panos Cosmatos

Death Metal Revenge Splatter

United States, Belgium, 121', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 Jahr

Cast: Nicolas Cage, Linus Roache, Andrea Riseborough

Der Film
Abgeschottet von der Welt leben Red und Mandy glücklich in ihrer Waldhütte in den Bergen. Eine Tages dringt eine Sekte in ihr Paradies, und nichts ist mehr wie zuvor. Der Anführer der fantatischen Gruppe, Jeremia Sand, lässt Mandy kidnappen, worauf diese stirbt. Der leblos zurückgelassene Red kommt zu sich und realisiert, dass er alles verloren hat – inklusive Verstand. Übrig ist nur ein unstillbarer Rachedurst. Bewaffnet bis zu den Zähnen und getrieben von blindem Hass startet er eine blutige Vendetta mit dem Ziel, jedes Sektenmitglied einzeln auszulöschen.

Getragen von einer nicht wiederzuerkennden Andrea Riseborough und vor allem von einem selten manischen Nicolas Cage gleicht Mandy einer halluzinationsnahen Erfahrung. Das surreale Spiel des Hauptdarstellers und zahlreiche, heftige Gore-Effekte sind eingebettet in eine psychedelische Atmosphäre, die mit den Grenzen der Realität spielt. Ein packender, abgründiger Revenge-Thriller in brutal-fantastischer Aufmachung und mit einer komplett berauschenden Ästhetik.

Der Regisseur
Als Sohn von George P. Cosmatos (Rambo II) begann Panos Cosmatos als Kameraassistent für den vorletzten Film seines Vater, Tombstone (1993). Zum ersten Mal Regie führte er 2010 bei Beyond the Black Rainbow. Auch dieser bizarre Sci-Fi-Thriller war bereits visuell faszinierend und blieb nicht unbemerkt. Mit seinem zweiten Spielfilm Mandy gelang dem italo-kanadischen Regisseur nun erneut ein visuell eindrückliches Werk, dessen feurige Spannung den Film von beiden Enden her zu verbrennen scheint.