Skip links

Pig (Khook)

Pig (Khook)

Mani Haghighi

Surreal Slasher Comedy

Iran, 105', vo FAS, sub DEU/FRA/ENG, 16 Year

Cast: Leili Rashidi, Hasan Majuni, Leila Hatami

The film
Hasan Kasmai is an Iranian director with an oversized ego whose career has recently taken a downturn. As an artist blacklisted by the authorities, he must settle for insecticide commercials. If the nosedive in popularity wasn’t enough, his favourite actress leaves to work for his rival. Worse still is the fact that the serial killer targeting Tehran’s most famous directors seems to completely ignore him. When he becomes a suspect, the public once again takes interest in him, just not the way he was hoping for.

Somewhere between a black comedy and a whimsical thriller, Pig looks critically at today’s Iranian regime. Brushing aside the stereotypes often associated with it, he asks questions about male/female interactions, freedom of speech, and the national culture in the digital age. At a time when narcissism and the thirst for fame reign supreme, social networks are apparently just as bad as the political and religious institutions in terms of blind punishment and absurd censorship.

The director
Born in 1969, Mani Haghighi has been energising Iranian cinema for many years. In 2006, he proves his skills for dark comedies with Men at Work. His 2016 effort, A Dragon Arrives!, creates a buzz and is selected at the Berlinale. Just like Pig, this fantastical crime film could be seen as a cutting critique of contemporary Iran. Though he never states the obvious or indulges in stereotypes, Mani Haghighi uses humour to put his country’s issues into perspective.

Skip links

Pig (Khook)

Pig (Khook)

Mani Haghighi

Surreal Slasher Comedy

Iran, 105', vo FAS, sub DEU/FRA/ENG, 16 Jahr

Cast: Leili Rashidi, Hasan Majuni, Leila Hatami

Der Film
Mit der Karriere des selbstherrlichen iranischen Regisseurs Hasan Kasmai geht es bergab: Wegen einem amtlichen Filmverbot dreht er nur noch Insektizid-Werbespots. Sein Bekanntheitsgrad schwindet, und seine Fetisch-Darstellerin will neuerdings mit seinem Rivalen arbeiten. Schlimmer noch: Ein Serienkiller, der die grossen Filmemacher Teherans ermordet, lässt ihn links liegen. Als man ihn sogar verdächtigt, selbst der Schuldige zu sein, interessiert sich das Publikum wieder für ihn – aber nicht so, wie erhofft!

Zwischen schwarzer Komödie und wundersamem Thriller pendelnd wirft Pig einen bitterbösen Blick auf die iranische Gesellschaft. Der Film spielt mit den entsprechenden Stereotypen und hinterfragt zugleich Geschlechterbeziehungen, Redefreiheit und Kultur im digitalen Zeitalter. In einer Epoche, die von Selbstsucht und Erfolgshunger geprägt ist, stehen die sozialen Netzwerke anscheinend den politischen und religiösen Mächten in nichts mehr nach, wenn es um blinde Vorverurteilung und absurde Zensur geht.

Der Regisseur
Der 1969 geborene Mani Haghighi belebt das iranische Kino seit Jahren mit seinem kreativen Elan. Im Jahr 2006 bewies er bereits ein gewisses Talent zur schwarzen Komödie mit Men at Work. 2016 gelang ihm mit dem an der Berlinale selektionierten A Dragon Arrives! ein Paukenschlag. Wie auch Pig verbarg dieser fantastisch angehauchte Krimi eine herbe Kritik des heutigen Irans. Ohne Rückgriffe auf Binsenweisheiten und Gemeinplätze hinterfragt Mani Haghighi die iranische Gesellscht aus einer humoristischen Perspektive.