Skip links

Time Share

Time Share

Sebastián Hofmann

Holiday Home Invasion

Mexico, Netherlands, 96', vo SPA, sub FRA/ENG, 14 Year

Cast: Luis Gerardo Méndez, Cassandra Ciangherotti, Miguel Rodarte

The film
The heavenly holidays Pedro had planned on spending with his wife and son at a seaside resort don’t seem to be in the cards for him. Although the family is forced to share their villa with particularly rude strangers, Pedro feels like he is the only one bothered by the situation. To make matters worse, the staff is so unscrupulous they might just cause a deadly accident…

After Halley (2013), Sebastián Hofmann continues to explore the horror of everyday life through ordinary people. The massive holiday resort decorum stands as a dehumanizing framework that heightens the rising feeling of fear experienced by the characters. Surrealistic and troubling visions emerge from the elegant aesthetics, giving this absurdist comedy the qualities of a baroque horror piece. A disconcerting take on alienation that will have you think twice about booking your next holidays.

The director
A graduate of the Pasadena Art Center College of Design, Mexican filmmaker Sebastián Hofmann started off as a visual artist. In 2011, he co-founded his Mexico-based distribution and production company Piano. His first feature, Halley (2013), which was about a night watchman with a decaying body, created the buzz in Sundance. Four years on, he won the award for best screenplay at the same festival with Time Share, his second film.

Skip links

Time Share

Time Share

Sebastián Hofmann

Holiday Home Invasion

Mexico, Netherlands, 96', vo SPA, sub FRA/ENG, 14 Jahr

Cast: Luis Gerardo Méndez, Cassandra Ciangherotti, Miguel Rodarte

Der Film
Pedro freut sich auf paradiesische Ferien mit Frau und Sohn, doch kaum ist die Familie im Badekomplex eingetroffen, gibt’s Ärger: Wegen Überbuchung muss er das Bungalow mit Fremden teilen, und diese erweisen sich als ausgesprochen unangenehme Zeitgenossen. Der Familienvater ist verzweifelt – doch es macht den Anschein, als ob nur er diese leidigen Mitbewohner mitbekommt. Eine brenzlige Situation, die nicht besser wird durch das skrupellose Personal, welches gar tödliche Unfälle in Kauf nimmt…

Nach Halley (2013) erkundet Sebastián Hofmann weiterhin die Banalität des Grauens unter unbeachtlichen Figuren. Die massive Architektur der Ferienindustrie bietet einen entseelten Rahmen, der sich perkekt ergänzt mit den zunehmenden Angstzuständen der Personen. Surrealistische Anleihen und unheimliche Motive lösen sich aus dieser eleganten Bilderwelt und verleihen der absurden Komödie die Züge von barockem Horror. Eine verunsichernde Schilderung der Urlaubsentfremdung, die uns die geplanten Ferien im Club Med nochmals überdenken lässt.

Der Regisseur
Diplomiert am Art Center College of Design in Pasadena begann der Mexikaner Sebastián Hofmann seine Karriere als visueller Künstler. 2011 war er in ein Mitbegründer der mexikanischen Verleih- und Produktionsgesellschaft Piano. Sein erster Spielfilm Halley (2013) erzählte die verstörende Geschichte eines Nachtwächters, dessen Körper zerfiel – und erregte Aufsehen in Sundance. Vier Jahre später gewann er ebenda den Preis für das beste Drehbuch mit Time Share, seinem zweiten Spielfilm.