Skip links

Under the Silver Lake

Under the Silver Lake

David Robert Mitchell

Surrealistic Neo-Noir

United States, 139', vo ENG, sub DEU/FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Riley Keough, Sydney Sweeney, Andrew Garfield

The film
Unemployed and in his thirties, Sam is just another citizen of Los Angeles, dreaming of the day he becomes famous. He is about to finally make it to home base with his stunning and mysterious neighbour when she vanishes, leaving strange symbols behind her. Sam’s obsessive quest through the City of Angels begins, soon leading him to discover its surrealistic arcana full of murders and conspiracies. What if our world were governed by a secret elite that communicates through codes and subliminal messages?

He already reinvented the slasher genre, now David Robert Mitchell is shaking all of Hollywood to its core. Sam, a spaced-out version of Philip Marlowe, leads an investigation that turns the film into a pop, sibylline crime thriller that feels like walking through a referential maze on acid. A burlesque, violent hare and hounds game that ends up being the missing link between Alfred Hitchcock, David Lynch, and Richard Kelly. Fascinating!

The director
David Robert Mitchell comes from Michigan. After getting his film degree at the Florida State University, he goes to Los Angeles and works as an editor before making Virgin, his first short film. In 2010, he masterfully probes the American youth with his first feature, The Myth of the American Sleepover. Four years later, he makes a splash with the horror phenomenon It Follows, which won two awards at the NIFFF 2014. Today, he is back with a haunting exploration set in the world of Hollywood cinephilia.

Skip links

Under the Silver Lake

Under the Silver Lake

David Robert Mitchell

Surrealistic Neo-Noir

United States, 139', vo ENG, sub DEU/FRA, 16 Jahr

Cast: Riley Keough, Sydney Sweeney, Andrew Garfield

Der Film
Der dreissigjährige, arbeitslose Sam ist ein L.A.-Bewohner wie viele andere: Er träumt davon, berühmt zu sein. Gerade als er dabei war, mit der bildhübschen und mysteriösen Nachbarin anzubandeln, verschwindet diese und hinterlässt seltsame Symbole. Der junge Mann begibt sich auf eine obsessive Suche durch die City of Angels. Früh schon stösst er auf die surrealen Kulissen der Stadt, wo Morde passieren und Verschwörungen grassieren. Wird unsere Erde am Ende von einer Geheimelite regiert, die mit Codes und anderen unterschwelligen Botschaften kommuniziert?

Nachdem er das Slasher-Genre revolutioniert hat, erzeugt David Robert Mitchell diesmal ein Erdbeben auf dem gesamten Planeten Hollywood. Die esoterische Suche von Sam, einem schrillen Philip-Marlow-Verschnitt, führt uns durch einen poppigen, rätselhaften Krimi in Form eines vernebelten Labyrinths aus Referenzen. Eine burlesk-brutale Spurensuche, die man als fehlendes Bindeglied zwischen Alfred Hitchcock, David Lynch und Richard Kelly lesen kann. In einem Wort: faszinierend!

Der Regisseur
David Robert Mitchell stammt aus Michigan. Mit einem Filmdiplom von der Florida State University reiste er nach Los Angeles und arbeitete dort als Cutter, bevor er seinen ersten Kurzfilm drehte, Virgin. 2010 warf er mit seinem ersten Spielfilm The Myth of the American Sleepover einen überzeugenden Blick auf die US-Jugend. Vier Jahre später gelang ihm mit It Follows ein sensationeller Horror-Uppercut, der am NIFFF 2014 zweifach prämiert wurde. Nun meldet er sich zurück und lässt uns abtauchen in das cinephile Universum Hollywoods.