Skip links

MUSIC@NIFFF 2020

DANCE THE NIFFF WAY!

From July 3rd to July 11th, the NIFFF will offer an exciting music programme composed of live DJ sets, thematic podcasts, and immersive transmedia experiences.
Broadcasted daily in NIFFF TV (from 9 p.m)

Live at the weekends: Set de Table from Psycho Weazel, a dub-centred but eclectic selection from OR7, a showdown between the musical visions of Sunday Morning Ballet Class and Bowmore, a presentation of immersive project LEAU from Georg Bleikolm, and the synth travels of Ritaline, musical alter ego of Supermafia.

During the week: podcasts in the form of mixtapes with 80s Swiss electronic music compilations: Intenta, offbeat selections from Fischer, futuristic choices from Schnautzi, as well as Vietnamese music from Park:ING and Ostin Fam, and Teruu’s Japanese selection.

FRIDAY, JULY 3RD

Set de Table

Psycho Weazel (Argent Sale | CH) – DJ set

Psycho Weazel was born when two boys instantly fell in love with each other’s musical sensibilities. Through hard work and tenacity, they made a name for themselves from their lakeside studio in Neuchâtel with the support of worldwide labels. Their live events and DJ sets are an intoxicating musical experience, broadcast in the best venues from the region and elsewhere.

Facebook | Instagram

SATURDAY, JULY 4TH

Particles in Motion

OR7 (Décalé, Feng Shit | CH) – DJ set

Matthias Orsett aka OR7 splits his time between Swiss mountains and Swiss studio basements. Whether it be in LYL with Feng Shit, in DIA with Aqua Poney Drift Club, or as his own band Décalé, Matthias creates borderless sets, although he is a bit obsessed with dub sounds.

 FacebookInstagram

SUNDAY, JULY 5TH

We Grew Up Here – Mixtape

park:ING (Savage, The Observatory | VN) x Ostin Fam (Brooklyn Filmmakers Collective | VN)

Park Lee (Giang Bac) is Korean Vietnamese and grew up in Ho Chi Minh City. He is the brain behind the queer evenings of GenderFunk, and a regular at underground clubs Savage (Hanoi) and The Observatory (Ho Chi Minh City). He is known for creating soundscapes that reflect his emotions.

Ostin Fam (Phạm Quốc Dũng) is an indie filmmaker from Hanoi and a member of the Brooklyn Filmmakers Collective. The concept of cultural fluidity – the way we reconcile our identities between countries with different customs – is at the centre of his work.

We Grew Up Here is the result of their experiences, influences, and the way they see the world.

MONDAY, JULY 6TH

INTENTA – Mixtape

Experimental & Electronic Music from Switzerland 1981-93

Intenta is a compilation focused on experimental electronic music from Switzerland made between 1981 and 1993. It contains 17 tracks produced by artists all over the country, from Geneva, Lausanne, Neuchâtel, Berne, Basel, St. Gallen, Zurich, and Aarau. Discover two hours of music mixed by its creators!

TUESDAY, JULY 7TH

Soundz of the Future– Mixtape

Schnautzi (Argent Sale | FR)

Schnautzi – CEO of the Argent Sale label and host of La Sélection on Nova Lyon – has a nasty habit of piling up disks in his overheated shack. He is known for his boldly eclectic DJ sets. The programme is a feline selection of electronic music, synth coupé-décalé, sweating dancehall, and urban savanna groove.

WEDNESDAY, JULY 8TH

Will AI Save the Planet, Spirituality & Justice? – Mixtape

Fischer (Décalé, Feng Shit | FR)

Head of the Décalé label, Fischer fits right in with the weird and offbeat. His passion for experimental music means he uses a wide variety of styles that are glued together through a consistent framework: his love for flowers and the unusual.

Facebook | Instagram

THURSDAY, JULY 9TH

Healing from Japan – Mixtape

Teruu (Mogra Radio | JPN)

Teruu fell in love with dance music in the 2000s. His dynamic disco sets include house, afro and obscure oddities. Programmer for the Zipang festival (Vietnam & Japan) and the WAM (Ho Chi Minh City), he recently launched Mogra Radio, an online channel that promotes Asian DJs and producers.

FRIDAY, JULY 10TH

Révolutions

Sunday Morning Ballet Class (Creaked Records | CH) x Bowmore (Couleur 3 | CH) – DJ set

At night, Geneva-based artist Bowmore dons her DJ suit to blast meticulously selected sets composed of unearthed new beat tracks and newfound masterpieces.

Neuchâtel artist Sunday Morning Ballet Class has been refining an accessible selection for years, from dark disco and electronica to new wave. This is your chance to try out your most insane dance moves.

Both artists are hellbent on surprising you during this live event. This is going to be something special.

SATURDAY, JULY 11TH

LEAU

KnoR (RAVE U R | CH) et Encor Studio (CH) – Live
Ritaline (Supermafia | CH) – DJ set

Georg Bleikolm aka KnoR presents, in collaboration with Encor Studio, the first episode of his new transmedia cycle LEAU, a musical and immersive sci-fi fable that stimulates unique reflections related to the transition from anthropocentrism to the Anthropocene.

This preview will take place between Neuchâtel and Zurich. On July 9th and 10th, KnoR will be in-residence with the Neuchâtel-based Encor Studio in Zurich (at the KOSMOS). On Saturday, July 11th, KnoR will present a complete version of his concept album LEAU on NIFFF TV.

Ritaline, the musical alter-ego of visual artists collective Supermafia, will bring the festival to a close with an indie dance, nu disco, and Italian synth pop compilation.

Skip links

MUSIC@NIFFF 2020

TANZ DAS NIFFF!

Vom 3. bis 11. Juli sendet das NIFFF ein Musikprogramm mit DJ-Sets per Livestream, thematischen Podcasts und transmedialer Immersion.
Broadcasted daily in NIFFF TV (from 9 p.m)

Live am Wochenden : Das Table-Set von Psycho Weazel, die dub-lastige Vielfalt von OR7, eine Konfrontation der musikalischen Visionen von Sunday Morning Ballet Class und Bowmore, die Präsentation des immersiven Projekts LEAU von Georg Bleikolm und die synthetischen Schichten von Ritaline, dem musikalischen Alter Ego von Supermafia.

Unter der Woche : Podcasts in der Form von Mixtapes präsentieren Intenta, eine Kompilation mit elektronischer Schweizer Musik aus den 80ern, die schrägen Selections von Fischer und die futuristischen Klänge von Schnautzi sowie der vietnamesische Touch von Park:ING und japanisches Allerlei von Teruu.

FREITAG, 3. JULI

Set de Table

Psycho Weazel (Argent Sale | CH) – DJ set

Die Geschichte von Psycho Weazel ging los, als es zwischen zwei sensiblen Jungs musikalisch zu funken begann. Mit Starrsinn und Arbeit brachten sie es fertig, von ihrem Studio am Neuenburgersee aus zu glänzen mit Tracks, die auf Labels in aller Welt erschienen – sowie mit berauschender Musik an Live- und DJ-Sets in den besten Sälen und Clubs in der Region und anderswo.

Facebook | Instagram

SAMSTAG, 4. JULI

Particles in Motion

OR7 (Décalé, Feng Shit | CH) – DJ set

Matthias Orsett aka OR7 surft zwischen Schweizer Bergen und Kellern, sei es auf LYL mit Feng Shit, auf DIA mit Aqua Poney Drift Club oder auf seinem eigenen Label Décalé. Vom Geschmack her kennt Matthias keine Grenzen – trotz einer leichten Sucht nach Dub-Klängen

 FacebookInstagram

SONNTAG, 5. JULI

We Grew Up Here – Mixtape

park:ING (Savage, The Observatory | VN) x Ostin Fam (Brooklyn Filmmakers Collective | VN)

Park Lee (Giang Bac) hat koreanisch-vietnamesische Wurzeln und wuchs in Ho Chi Minh City auf. Er belebt die Queer-Nächte GenderFunk und residiert in den Underground-Clubs Savage (Hanoi) und The Observatory (Ho Chi Minh City), wo er klangliche Landschaften erzeugt, die seine Gefühle wiedergeben.

Ostin Fam (Phạm Quốc Dũng) ist ein Independent-Filmemacher, ursprünglich aus Hanoi, und Mitglied des Brooklyn Filmmakers Collective. Das Konzept der kulturellen Fluidität – wie wir unsere Identität in verschiedenen Ländern mit unterschiedlichen Bräuchen in Einklang bringen – ist ein zentraler Punkt seiner Arbeit.

We Grew Up Here steht für Erfahrungen, Einflüsse und Weltanschauungen der beiden.

MONTAG, 6. JULI

INTENTA – Mixtape

Experimental & Electronic Music from Switzerland 1981-93

Intenta ist eine Compilation mit experimenteller und elektronischer Schweizer Musik, die zwischen 1981 und 1993 entstand. Die insgesamt 17 Stücke stammen von Kunstschaffenden aus unterschiedlichsten Schweizer Orten, darunter Genf, Lausanne, Bern, Basel, St. Gallen, Zürich und Aarau. Das NIFFF sendet eine zweistündige Entdeckungsreise, kommentiert von den beiden Kuratoren.

DIENSTAG, 7. JULI

Soundz of the Future– Mixtape

Schnautzi (Argent Sale | FR)

Schnautzi – der Label-Boss von Argent Sale und Moderator der Sendung La Séléction auf Nova Lyon – hat die lästige Angewohnheit, in seiner überheizten Hütte unzählige Platten zu horten. Seine DJ-Sets sind berüchtigt für ihren gerade zu frechen Eklektizismus Die geschmeidige Selektion umfasst Elektronik, schräg frisierte Synthetik, Dancehal-Schweissperlen und urbane Savannengrooves.

MITTWOCH, 8. JULI

Will AI Save the Planet, Spirituality & Justice? – Mixtape

Fischer (Décalé, Feng Shit | FR)

Der Décalé-Labelboss Maxi Fischer ist ein Vogel in einem Wald aus rosa Wolken. Seine Leidenschaft für experimentelle Musik dehnt seine Stilbreite gefährlich aus, mit immerhin zwei gemeinsamen Nennern: Er liebt Weirdness und Blumen.

Facebook | Instagram

DONNERSTAG, 9. JULI

Healing from Japan – Mixtape

Teruu (Mogra Radio | JPN)

 

Teruu vernarrte sich Mitte der 2000er Jahre in Dance Music. Seine kraftvollen Disco-Sets speisen sich aus House, Afro und obskuren Raritäten. Er programmiert das Zipang-Festival (Vietnam & Japan) und das WAM (Ho Chi Minh City). Unlängst lancierte er den Online-Kanal Mogra Radio, mit dem er asiatische DJs und Musikschaffende fördert.

FREITAG, 10. JULI

Révolutions

Sunday Morning Ballet Class (Creaked Records | CH) x Bowmore (Couleur 3 | CH) – DJ set

Die Genferin Bowmore verbringt ihre Nächte als Djane, deren zugespitze Sets entstaubte New-Beat-Tracks mit brandneuen Entdeckungen vermischen.

Die Neuenburgerin Sunday Morning Ballet Class verfeinert seit Jahren ihren erstaunlich herzlichen Mix aus Dark Disco und Electronica mit New-Wave-Touch, der zu halsbrecherischen Tänzen verleitet.

Die beiden haben sich fest vorgenommen, für den live ausgestrahlten Abend, der möglichst speziell werden soll, einige Überraschungen bereitzuhalten.

SAMSTAG, 11. JULI

LEAU

KnoR (RAVE U R | CH) et Encor Studio (CH) – Live
Ritaline (Supermafia | CH) – DJ set

Anlässlich des NIFFF präsentiert Georg Bleikolm aka KnoR in Zusammenarbeit mit Enco Studio die erste Episode seines neuen Transmedia-Zyklus LEAU, eine musikalische und immersive Erzählung, die uns heranführt an eine spekulative Fabel und an die eigentümlichen Gedankenwelt, die den Übergang vom Anthrozentrismus zum Anthropozän begleitet.

Die Vernissage dieser ersten Episode findet statt zwischen Neuchâtel und Zürich. Den 9. und 10. Juli verbringt KnoR im Zürcher KOSMOS in künstlerischer öffentlich-immersiver Residenz mit den Neuenburgern von Encor Studio.

Am Samstag 11. Juli präsentiert KnoR eine vollständige Version des Konzeptalbums LEAU auf NIFFF.tv. Ritaline – das musiklische Avatar des Videokunst-Kollektivs Supermafia – beschliesst das Festival mit einer Auswahl an Dance-Indie, Nu-Disco und italienischem Synth-Pop.