Skip links

< International Competition

Bacurau

Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles

Revolutionnary Sci-Fi

Brazil, France, 2019, 132'

pt/en sub fr/en, 16a

9.7, Arcades, 22:15

12.7, Arcades, 19:30

The movie

Under pressure from a corrupt politician, the inhabitants of a small village start to think a greater menace threatens them. A powerful, disturbing futuristic western.

In the near future, a small community of the Brazilian hinterland mourns the loss of their matriarch Carmelita. A few days later, people notice that their village, named Bacurau, has vanished from all the maps. Things go from bad to worse when mobile phones stop working, bodies start piling up on the roadsides, and a strange unidentified flying object starts observing the locals... But the villagers are not exactly of the passive type, and will fight back no matter what.

A winner of the last Cannes Film Festival, Bacurau ambitiously combines anthropological realism, dreamlike haze, and a particularly bloody version of the crime thriller. The gorgeous CinemaScope cinematography and the apocalyptic atmosphere make the film look like the mutant child of John Carpenter and Sergio Leone, and explores the reality of Brazil’s outcasts. Existing on the edges of sci-fi, the western and the techno-fable, Bacurau is a cutting critique of modern imperialism and of the current political situation.


Director

Kleber Mendonça Filho (1968) and Juliano Dornelles (1980) both hail from Recife. The former, who used to work as a critic, made Neighboring Sounds (2012) and Aquarius (2016), two striking studies of power, class and race. The latter has been working as a production designer since the early 2000s. After several collaborations, they directed Bacurau together, a dystopia that fully embraces its genre roots.

World Sales :

SBS International

cast :

Sonia Braga, Udo Kier, Bárbara Colen, Thomas Aquino, Silvero Pereira, Thardelly Lima, Rubens Santos, Wilson Rabelo, Carlos Francisco, Luciana Souza, Karine Teles, Antonio Saboia

Crew :
  • Music : Mateus Alves, Tomaz Alves Souza
  • Cinematographer : Pedro Sotero
  • Editor : Eduardo Serrano
?>

Skip links

< International Competition

Bacurau

Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles

Revolutionnary Sci-Fi

Brazil, France, 2019, 132'

pt/en sub fr/en, 16a

9.7, Arcades, 22:15

12.7, Arcades, 19:30

Der Film

Die Dorfbevölkerung ist den Launen eines korrupten Politikers ausgeliefert, aber weit grössere Bedrohungen stehen bevor. Ein futuristischer Western, eindrücklich und verstörend.

In einer nahen Zukunft trauert eine kleine Gemeinde im brasilianischen Hinterland um die Matriarchin Carmelita. Einige Tage später stellen die Dorfbewohner fest, dass ihr geliebtes Dorf Bacurau auf keiner Karte mehr erscheint. Schlimmer noch: Die Handys bleiben stumm und am Strassenrand vermehren sich die Leichen, während ein seltsames, unidentifiziertes Flugobjekt die Dorfbewohner zu beobachten scheint... Doch diese Bedrohung von aussen lassen sich die Einheimischen nicht bieten.

Bacurau, preisgekrönt am diesjährigen Filmfestival von Cannes, jongliert ehrgeizig zwischen anthropologischem Realismus, fieberhafter Fantasie und einer ausgesprochen blutigen Auslegung des Thriller-Regelwerks. Mit seinen grandiosen CinemaScope-Bildern und seiner apokalyptische Atmosphäre wirkt der Film wie ein verstossenes Kind von John Carpenter und Sergio Leone, angesiedelt im Alltag der ärmsten Einwohner Brasiliens. Bacurau ist zu gleichen Teilen SF-Film, Western und Techno-Fabel und übt zudem beissende Kritik am modernen Imperialismus und an der derzeitigen politischen Situation.


Regisseur/in

Kleber Mendonça Filho (1968) und Juliano Dornelles (1980) stammen beide aus Recife. Filho, zuvor als Filmjournalist tätig, inszenierte mit O Som ao Redor (2012) und Aquarius (2016) zwei eindringliche Studien über Bezüge zwischen Macht, Klasse und Rasse. Dornelles hingegen ist seit Anfang der 2000er Jahre als Produktionsdesigner tätig. Nach mehreren gemeinsamen Projekten schufen sie mit der dystopischen Freske Bacurau ihren ersten Ausflug in die Gefilde des Genrefilms.

World Sales :

SBS International

cast :

Sonia Braga, Udo Kier, Bárbara Colen, Thomas Aquino, Silvero Pereira, Thardelly Lima, Rubens Santos, Wilson Rabelo, Carlos Francisco, Luciana Souza, Karine Teles, Antonio Saboia

Crew :
  • Music : Mateus Alves, Tomaz Alves Souza
  • Cinematographer : Pedro Sotero
  • Editor : Eduardo Serrano