Skip links

< International Competition

Come to Daddy

Ant Timpson

Explosive Family Issues

New Zealand, Canada, Ireland, United States, 2019, 94'

en sub fr, 16a

6.7, Arcades, 22:15

11.7, Arcades, 19:45

The movie

A hip DJ accepts to visit his father who lives in a villa by the ocean. The reunion will turn sour sooner than expected... Trust us, you’ll be thinking your family dinners aren’t that bad after all!

Abandoned by his father as a child, Norval is now a thirty-something hipster who feels underappreciated. Wishing to find value in the eyes of his father, he decides to meet up with him, hoping to impress him with his accomplishments as a DJ. Unfortunately, the old man still doesn’t have an ounce of fatherhood in his body. Soon, the reunion takes an unexpected turn when Norval finds himself not only fighting for his pride, but for his life.

Come to Daddy is a claustrophobic thriller set in an isolated house on the Pacific Coast, which continuously defies expectations by mixing horror and black humour in this father-son confrontation. With a sense of humour that’s both cruel and engaging, the film invokes a continually tangible feeling of uneasiness and tension, and frequently surprises the audience. This portray of family ties, propelled by an amazingly eccentric Elijah Wood, is as cringy as it is bloody.


Director

Born in 1966, Ant Timpson funded the 48Hours film challenge in 2003, a short film festival that helped several New Zealand filmmakers to get their first works shown. He then produced the best genre fare in his country, including gems such as Housebound (winner of the NIFFF 2014), Turbo KidDeathgasmThe Greasy Strangler, as well as the anthology films ABCs of Death et The Field Guide to Evil. With Come to Daddy, Ant Timpson takes the director’s seat and strengthens his position as defender of an unbridled, absurdist genre cinema.

World Sales :

Wtfilms

cast :

Elijah Wood, Stephen McHattie, Garfield Wilson, Madeleine Sami, Martin Donovan, Michael Smiley, Simon Chin, Ona Grauer, Ryan Beil

Crew :
  • Music : Karl Steven
  • Cinematographer : Daniel Katz
  • Editor : Dan Kircher

Skip links

< International Competition

Come to Daddy

Ant Timpson

Explosive Family Issues

New Zealand, Canada, Ireland, United States, 2019, 94'

en sub fr, 16a

6.7, Arcades, 22:15

11.7, Arcades, 19:45

Der Film

Ein trendiger DJ willigt ein, seinen Vater in dessen Villa am Meer zu besuchen. Doch das Wiedersehen steht unter keinem günstigen Stern. Eigene Familientreffen sind harmlos dagegen!

Norval wurde als Kind von seinem Vater verlassen. Heute ist er ein dreissigjähriger Hipster auf der Suche nach Anerkennung. Weil er hofft, sie von seinem Erzeuger zu bekommen, nimmt er mit diesem wieder Kontakt auf: Er willigt ein, ihn zu treffen – überzeugt davon, dass er von seiner DJ-Karriere beeindruckt sein wird. Pech für Norval: Der alte Mann hat nach wie vor keine väterliche Faser in sich. Die Wiedervereinigung verläuft auch sonst nicht wie geplant, und schon bald muss Norval nicht nur um sein Ego, sondern um sein Leben fürchten.

Als Kammerspiel in einem Haus am Pazifik unterläuft Come to Daddy die Publikumserwartungen: Das Vater-Sohn-Wiedersehen wird mit Horror und schwarzem Humor garniert. Der Film löst mit seiner zugleich brutalen und schrillen Komik ein spürbares Unwohlsein voller Spannung aus – zumal er sein Publikum mehrmals überlistet. Eine zynische, blutige Schilderung von Familienbeziehungen, getragen von einem herrlich exzentrischen Elijah Wood.


Regisseur/in

Ant Timpson wurde 1966 geboren und lancierte 2003 das Kurzfilmfestival 48Hours Film Challenge, dem mehrere neuseeländische Filmschaffende ihre Anfänge verdanken. In der Folge produzierte er einige der besten NZ-Genrefilme, darunter Perlen wie Housebound (Gewinner des NIFFF 2014), Turbo KidDeathgasm,The Greasy Strangler sowie die Anthologiefilme ABCs of Death und The Field Guide to Evil. Mit Come to Daddy wechselt Ant Timpson hinter die Kamera und bestätigt seinen Geschmack für hemmungsloses Genrekino und absurden Humor.

World Sales :

Wtfilms

cast :

Elijah Wood, Stephen McHattie, Garfield Wilson, Madeleine Sami, Martin Donovan, Michael Smiley, Simon Chin, Ona Grauer, Ryan Beil

Crew :
  • Music : Karl Steven
  • Cinematographer : Daniel Katz
  • Editor : Dan Kircher