Skip links

< International Competition

Extra Ordinary

Enda Loughman, Mike Ahern

Paranormal Stupidities

Ireland, Belgium, 2019, 94'

en sub fr, 14a

6.7, Arcades, 17:00

13.7, Arcades, 15:15

The movie

In this hilarious film, a driving instructor reconnects with her supernatural powers and her tortured past to prevent a failed Rockstar from making a deal with the devil.

Rose, a charming and compassionate driving instructor, refuses to use her supernatural powers that allow her to speak with the dead. She makes an exception for Martin, an equally charming man who recently lost his wife and asks her to save his daughter. The teenage girl is the target of a satanic ritual ordered by a fallen rock star who has made a deal with the devil to regain their fame. To succeed, Rose will need to overcome the fear of her own powers…

Fallen stars, possessed trash cans and vengeful evil forces – could Extra Ordinarybe the craziest film in the International Competition? Madly in love with the world they created, the directors seem to be having a great time with their characters and their story, which all allow for tons of hilarious gags and situations. With its compelling performances and a formidable sense of pace, Extra Ordinaryshould have no trouble becoming your new cult movie.


Director

Mostly known as their collective name D.A.D.D.Y., Mike Ahern and Enda Loughman have been working together for over 10 years. After projects in animation and graphic design, they started making short films like Mr. Foley (2009) and The Hatch (2011), TV commercials, and music videos for bands such as Bloc Party, Jape and Super Furry Animals. In 2008, they are granted the “Best New Directors” award at the UK Music Video Awards. Extra Ordinary is their first feature film.

World Sales :

Epic Pictures Group

cast :

Will Forte, Maeve Higgins, Claudia O'Doherty, Barry Ward, Risteárd Cooper, Jamie Beamish, Terri Chandler

Crew :
  • Music : George Brennan
  • Cinematographer : James Mather
  • Editor : Gavin Buckley

Skip links

< International Competition

Extra Ordinary

Enda Loughman, Mike Ahern

Paranormal Stupidities

Ireland, Belgium, 2019, 94'

en sub fr, 14a

6.7, Arcades, 17:00

13.7, Arcades, 15:15

Der Film

Eine Fahrlehrerin greift trotz Bedenken auf ihre übernatürlichen Kräfte zurück, um zu verhindern, dass ein gescheiterter Rockstar mit dem Teufel paktiert. Hinreissend komisch!

Die liebenswerte, einsame Taxifahrerin Rose kann zwar mit Geistern kommunizieren, aber sie weigert sich, ihre übernatürlichen Talente einzusetzen. Für den charmanten Witwer Martin macht sie eine Ausnahme, als dieser sie bittet, seine Tochter zu retten: Die arme Jugendliche wurde verwickelt in ein satanisches Ritual, angezettelt von einem gefallenen Rockstar, der mit dem Teufel paktiert, um wieder erfolgreich zu werden! Rose wird ihre Angst vor ihren aussergewöhnlichen Gaben überwinden müssen…

Veblasster Ruhm, besessene Mülleimer und übernatürliche Kräfte mit Vergeltungstrieb: Ist Extra Ordinary womöglich der durchgeknallteste Beitrag im internationalen Wettbewerb? Die beiden Regisseure gehen liebevoll um mit ihrem Universum, aber sie haben vor allem Spass mit ihren Figuren und ihrer Geschichte, die beide reichlich Situationskomik und gelungene Gags bereithalten. Extra Ordinary lebt von einem Cast in Bestform und einem eindrücklichen Sinn für Timing: Hier findet sich schlicht alles, was es für einen neuen Kultfilm braucht.


Regisseur/in

Mike Ahern und Enda Loughman arbeiten seit über einem Jahrzehnt zusammen, oft unter dem Künstlernamen «D.A.D.D.Y.». Von der Animation und der Grafik herkommend inszenierten sie Kurzfilme (Mr. Foley, 2009, The Hatch, 2011), TV-Spots und Musikvideos für Bands wie Bloc Party, Jape und Super Furry Animals. 2008 wurden sie an den UK Music Video Awards als «Best New Directors» ausgezeichnet. Extra Ordinary ist ihr erster Spielfilm.

World Sales :

Epic Pictures Group

cast :

Will Forte, Maeve Higgins, Claudia O'Doherty, Barry Ward, Risteárd Cooper, Jamie Beamish, Terri Chandler

Crew :
  • Music : George Brennan
  • Cinematographer : James Mather
  • Editor : Gavin Buckley
?>