Skip links

< International Competition

Jesus Shows You the Way to the Highway

Miguel Llansó

The Matrix On Acid

Ethiopia, Spain, Estonia, 2019, 81'

en sub fr, 14a

7.7, Arcades, 20:00

11.7, Arcades, 14:45

The movie

Two special agents are tasked with protecting the computer programme that runs a future metropolis. However, the ‘Soviet Union’ virus soon starts wreaking havoc. A delirious ride!

The year is 2035. Tallinn is a megalopolis controlled by an omniscient computer called Psychobook. When “Soviet Union”, a dangerous virus, attacks the AI, agents Gagano and Palmer Eldritch are tasked with the perilous mission of destroying it. But following an accident, Gagano is sent to another dimension where he unwillingly goes along with an initiation quest alongside a man who looks a hell of a lot like Jesus Christ.

Shot in Estonia, Spain and Ethiopia, Jesus Shows You the Way to the Highway is a film you could describe as out of this world on every level. This delirious tale of afrofuturism has it all: the worlds of Philip K. Dick, the 1960s Batman TV series, pro-drugs cults, secret agents hiding behind paper masks, and a giant Stalin head that shoots lasers with its eyes. The film will have its world premiere at the NIFFF 2019 – it’s a shot of pure creativity that constantly reinvents itself to surprise the audience.


Director

Originally from Spain, Miguel Llansó regularly stays in Ethiopia, where he shoots most of his work. His short films quickly gained a reputation in the festival circuit, especially Chigger Ale, about an Ethiopian clone of Adolf Hitler which was first shown in Locarno in 2013, before being programmed all over the world. Two years later, Miguel Llansó made his feature debut with the fascinating Crumbs, an Ethiopia-set sci-fi film that won an award at the NIFFF 2015.

writers :

Miguel Llansó

cast :

Daniel Tadesse, Agustín Mateo, Guillermo Llansó

Crew :
  • Music : Atomizador
  • Editor : Velasco Broca
  • Cinematographer : Israel Seoane

Skip links

< International Competition

Jesus Shows You the Way to the Highway

Miguel Llansó

The Matrix On Acid

Ethiopia, Spain, Estonia, 2019, 81'

en sub fr, 14a

7.7, Arcades, 20:00

11.7, Arcades, 14:45

Der Film

Zwei Spezialagenten kümmern sich um den Schutz eines Computerprogramms, das eine futuristische Grossstadt steuert. Da sorgt der Virus "Soviet Union" für Chaos. Unglaublich!

Wir schreiben das Jahr 2035: Tallinn, mittlerweile eine gigantische Metropole, wird von einem allwissenden Computer namens Psychobook gesteuert. Weil ein gefährliches Virus namens «Sowjetunion» die künstliche Intelligenz bedroht, begeben sich die Agenten Gagano und Palmer Eldritch auf eine gefährliche Mission, um es zu zerstören. Doch nach einem Unfall landet Gagano in einer Paralleldimension, und es beginnt für ihn eine unfreiwillige Irrfahrt an der Seite eines Mannes, der auffallend an Jesus Christus erinnert.

Jesus Shows You the Way to the Highway wurde in Estland, Spanien und Äthiopien gedreht und ist auf allen Ebenen ein unwahrscheinlicher Film. In einem irrwitzigen afro-futuristischen  Setting trifft das Universum von Philip K. Dick auf die Batman-Serie der 1960er. Es treten auf: Pro-Drogen-Sekten, Geheimagenten hinter Papiermasken und ein riesiger Stalinkopf, aus dessen Augen Laserstrahlen schiessen. Der am NIFFF 2019 als Weltpremiere gezeigte Film strotzt vor vergnüglicher Kreativität und narrt das Publikum, indem er sich ständig von selbst erneuert.


Regisseur/in

Der gebürtige Spanier Miguel Llansó hält sich regelmässig in Äthiopien auf und dreht oft auch dort. Seine ersten Kurzfilme erregten Aufsehen an Festivals, darunter Chigger Ale, die Geschichte eines äthiopischen Adolf-Hitler-Klons, der 2013 am Festival von Locarno Festival präsentiert wurde und danach an zahlreichen grossen Filmanlässen zu sehen war. Zwei Jahre später präsentierte Miguel Llansó seinen faszinierenden Spielfilmerstling Crumbs, eine in Äthiopien gedrehte SF-Geschichte, die am NIFFF 2015 ausgezeichnet wurde.

writers :

Miguel Llansó

cast :

Daniel Tadesse, Agustín Mateo, Guillermo Llansó

Crew :
  • Music : Atomizador
  • Editor : Velasco Broca
  • Cinematographer : Israel Seoane