Skip links

< International Competition

Répertoire des villes disparues

Denis Côté

Bone-Chilling Ghost Story

Canada, 2019, 97'

fr sub en, 14a

7.7, Arcades, 17:15

10.7, Arcades, 19:45

The movie

When a young man dies in a road accident, the inhabitants of isolated village Irénée-les-Neiges are shell-shocked. But an even bigger tragedy is about to befall them…

Day to day life in Irénée-les-Neiges, an isolated village of 215 inhabitants in Québec, changes forever when the young Simon Dubé dies in a car accident. His family and friends try to come to terms with his death, but no matter how much time passes, they remain inconsolable. A winter of extreme conditions settles on the agonizing community, and strange figures are seen walking in the fog on the edge of the village. A new tragedy awaits…

Shown at the last Berlinale, Ghost Town Anthologyimmerses its audience in the life of an inward-looking rural community. By making the tropes of genre films his own, Denis Côté questions our relationship with others and makes us face our demons. The unfolding tragedy slowly traps the viewer until they are completely submerged in the ice-cold landscapes of Canadian hinterland – beautifully shot on 16mm film.


Director

Born in Canada in 1973, Denis Côté started off as a journalist and movie reviewer. He made numerous short films during the 1990s. Drifting States, his first feature film, won a Léopard d’or at the 2005 Locarno Festival. Working both in fictions and documentaries, Denis Côté won several awards at various festivals, including the Silver Bear at the 2013 Berlinale for Vic and Flo Saw a BearGhost Town Anthologyis his 11th feature film.

World Sales :

Films Boutique

writers :

Laurence Olivier

producers :

Ziad Touma

cast :

Robert Naylor, Josée Deschênes, Jean-Michel Anctil, Larissa Corriveau, Diane Lavallée, Rémi Goulet, Jocelyne Zucco, Normand Carrière, Hubert Proulx, Rachel Graton

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : François Messier-Rheault
  • Editor : Nicolas Roy
?>

Skip links

< International Competition

Répertoire des villes disparues

Denis Côté

Bone-Chilling Ghost Story

Canada, 2019, 97'

fr sub en, 14a

7.7, Arcades, 17:15

10.7, Arcades, 19:45

Der Film

Als ein Jugendlicher bei einem Verkehrsunfall stirbt, sind die Bewohner des abgelgenen Dorfes Irénée-les-Neiges geschockt. Doch eine weit grössere Tragödie steht noch bevor...

Irénée-les-Neiges, ein abgelegenes Dorf in Quebec mit 215 Einwohnern, wird aus dem Alltagstrott gerissen, als der junge Simon Dubé bei einem Autounfall stirbt. Die Familie und Freunde des Verstorbenen möchten ihre Trauer überwinden – aber die Zeit vergeht, und der Schmerz bleibt. Als sich ein eisiger Winter über die Gegend legt und die kleine Gemeinde immer lebloser wirkt, ziehen merkwürdige Silhouetten im Nebel um das Dorf herum. Eine neue Tragödie bahnt sich an…

Der an der letzten Berlinale uraufgeführte Film Répertoire des villes disparues vermittelt verstörende Einblicke in das Leben einer zurückgezogenen ländlichen Gesellschaft. Unter Anwendung der Genrecodes hinterfragt Denis Côté unsere Beziehung zum Anderen und konfrontiert uns mit unseren Geistern. Allmählich erfasst einen das sich entfaltende Drama  und man versinkt quasi in den eisigen Kulissen des kanadischen Hinterlandes, betörend eingefangen in körnigen 16-mm-Bildern.


Regisseur/in

Denis Côté wurde 1973 in Kanada geboren und war zuerst Journalist und Filmkritiker. In den späten 90ern entstanden erste Kurzfilme. Mit seinem Langfilmerstling Les états nordiques gewann er 2005 den Goldenen Leoparden der Videosektion des Festivals von Locarno. Côtés Dok- und Spielfilme erhielten an diversen Festivals zahlreiche Preise; Vic + Flo ont vu un ours etwa wurde mit dem Silbernen Bären der Berlinale 2013 ausgezeichnet. Répertoire des villes disparues ist sein elfter Spielfilm.

World Sales :

Films Boutique

writers :

Laurence Olivier

producers :

Ziad Touma

cast :

Robert Naylor, Josée Deschênes, Jean-Michel Anctil, Larissa Corriveau, Diane Lavallée, Rémi Goulet, Jocelyne Zucco, Normand Carrière, Hubert Proulx, Rachel Graton

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : François Messier-Rheault
  • Editor : Nicolas Roy