Skip links

< International Competition / Special Programs / Danes Do It Better!

Sons of Denmark

Ulaa Salim

In-Your-Face Anticipation

Denmark, 2019, 123'

da/ar sub en/fr, 16a

5.7, Arcades, 22:15

10.7, Arcades, 16:45

The movie

Denmark, 2025. As the far-right wins ground, 19-year-old Zakaria is talked into joining a terrorist cell. An astounding and realistic look into the future.

Copenhagen, 2025. Following a terrorist attack, ethnic tensions skyrocket and pave the way for the rise of the Far Right. As extremist and nationalist demagogue Martin Nordahl wins the latest elections in a landslide, young Zakaria becomes tired of the anti-Islam climate and lets himself be seduced by a group of radicals. Trained by Ali, with whom he develops and father-son relationship, Zakaria is soon given his first mission: to eliminate the newly elected politician.


Brotherhood, convictions and manipulations clash in this frighteningly realistic near-future thriller. By mixing genre tropes and relevant themes, Irakian-Danish filmmaker Ulaa Salim delivers a provocative directorial debut that is sure to make waves. With an ambitious script full of twists and turns, Sons of Denmark is a work of raw, radical political energy.


Director

Born in 1987, Ulaa Salim graduated from the National Film School of Denmark in 2017. During his studies, he directed the short film Land of our Fathers, which won awards at festivals. He joined forces with producer Daniel Mühlendorph to create the Hyanene Film studio. Financed through the New Danish Screen programme, Sons of Denmark was written, produced and directed by Salim, who will no doubt get the recognition he deserves.

Festival Contact :

Danish Film Institute

writers :

Ulaa Salim

producers :

Daniel Mühlendorph

cast :

Zaki Youssef, Mohammed Ismail Mohammed, Rasmus Bjerg

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : Eddie Klint
  • Editor : Jenna Mangulad
  • Music : Turkman Souljah
?>

Skip links

< International Competition / Special Programs / Danes Do It Better!

Sons of Denmark

Ulaa Salim

In-Your-Face Anticipation

Denmark, 2019, 123'

da/ar sub en/fr, 16a

5.7, Arcades, 22:15

10.7, Arcades, 16:45

Der Film

Dänemark, 2025. Während die äusserste Rechte das Land erobert, schliesst sich der 19-jährige Zakaria einer extremistischen Zelle an. Ein realistischer, aber verblüffender Zukunftsthriller.

Kopenhagen, 2025. Nach einem Terroranschlag haben die ethnischen Spannungen im Land den Aufstieg der extremen Rechten ermöglicht. Während Martin Nordahl, ein nationalistischer und extremistischer Demagoge, bei der jüngste Abstimmung Glanzresultate erzielt, tritt der junge Zakaria als Reaktion auf das antiislamistische Klima einer radikalen Organisation bei. Ausgebildet wird er von Ali, der für ihn zu einer Vaterfigur wird. Zakarias erste Mission lautet: Er soll den neu gewählten Politiker eliminieren.


Bruderschaft, Überzeugungen und Manipulation treffen in dieser furchterregend realistischen Zukunftsvision aufeinander. Mit Genrecodes bezieht sich der irakisch-dänische Regisseur Ulaa Salim auf die harte Aktualität in einem furios-provokanten ersten Film, der niemanden kalt lassen wird. Sons of Denmark basiert auf einem ehrgeizigen Drehbuch voller Wendepunkte und versetzt seinem Publikum einen politischen, radikalen Schlag in die Magengrube.


Regisseur/in

Ulaa Salim wurde 1987 geboren und schloss 2017 seine Ausbildung an der National Film School of Denmark ab. Gleichzeitig führte er Regie bei Land of our Fathers, einem vielbeachteten und preisgekrönten Kurzfilm. Zusammen mit dem Produzenten Daniel Mühlendorph betreibt er die Produktionsfirma Hyaene Film. Sons of Denmark wurde finanziert durch die Initiative New Danish Screen und ist Salims erster Spielfilm, den er geschrieben, produziert und inszeniert hat: Er wird dafür zweifellos die Anerkennung erhalten, die er verdient.

Festival Contact :

Danish Film Institute

writers :

Ulaa Salim

producers :

Daniel Mühlendorph

cast :

Zaki Youssef, Mohammed Ismail Mohammed, Rasmus Bjerg

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : Eddie Klint
  • Editor : Jenna Mangulad
  • Music : Turkman Souljah