Skip links

< International Competition

Swallow

Carlo Mirabella-Davis

Jaws vs. Patriarchy

United States, France, 2019, 95'

en sub fr, 14a

6.7, Arcades, 14:30

11.7, Passage 1, 19:45

The movie

Hunter went from humble beginnings to the wife of a rich and powerful man. But despite this seemingly perfect façade, no one – and nothing – can stop her from swallowing dangerous objects…

At first glance, Hunter has the perfect life: she is the housewife of the ideal man, and lives in a gorgeous home. However, soon after she learns she is expecting, Hunter starts suffering from strange behavioural disorders that push her to ingest things that shouldn’t be eaten. As her taste for more and more dangerous objects grows, her husband and his family try everything they can to stop her, anxious to protect the offspring...

Part psychological thriller, part social fable, Swallow draws its strength from its blend of influences. Propelled by a breathtaking performance from Haley Bennett and directed with a rare elegance, the film consistently avoids the pitfalls of sensationalism that often come with such themes. Instead, it paints a stunning vision of the power of patriarchy and tackles the way the female body is perceived, while examining the standards imposed by gender norms. What ordeals lie beneath the pretty façade of society?


Director

After graduating from the New York Tisch Film School, Carlo Mirabella-Davis went on to make Knife Point in 2009, his first short film, shown at Sundance. Two years later, he co-directed The Swell Season, a musical documentary that premiered in Tribeca. Swallow, which he wrote and directed, is his first fiction feature film. Executive-produced by Joe Wright, the film will have its international premiere at the NIFFF, after its much-discussed world premiere in Tribeca last April.

World Sales :

Charades

writers :

Carlo Mirabella-Davis

cast :

Haley Bennett, Austin Stowell, Denis O'Hare, Elizabeth Marvel, David Rasche, Luna Lauren Velez

Crew :
  • Music : Nathan Halpern
  • Cinematographer : Katelin Arizmendi
  • Editor : Joe Murphy

Skip links

< International Competition

Swallow

Carlo Mirabella-Davis

Jaws vs. Patriarchy

United States, France, 2019, 95'

en sub fr, 14a

6.7, Arcades, 14:30

11.7, Passage 1, 19:45

Der Film

Hunter, aus bescheidenen Verhältnissen, hat einen reichen und mächtigen Ehemann – und schluckt im Luxusheim zwanghaft gefährliche Objekte. Nichts kann sie davon abhalten...

Vordergründig führt Hunter ein ideales Leben: Sie hat den perfekten Mann geheiratet und lebt als Hausfrau in einer prächtigen Villa. Doch seit sie weiss, dass sie ihr erstes Kind erwartet,   leidet sie unter einer seltsamen Essstörung: Zwanghaft verspeist sie ungeniessbare Dinge. Während es sie nach immer gefährlicheren Gegenständen gelüstet, versuchen ihr Ehemann und dessen Familie, die ungewöhnliche Bulimie zu stoppen: Der Nachwuchs muss unbedingt geschützt werden...

Ziemlich genau an der Grenze zwischen den Genres Psychothriller und soziale Fabel siedelt Swallow seine originelle Geschichte an. Der Film wird belebt durch die darstellerische Leistung von Haley Bennett, die hier mit rarer Eleganz in Szene gesetzt wird. Er verzichtet auf die billigen Effekte, die bei diesem Thema möglich gewesen wären, und schildert stattdessen konsequent, wie das Patriarchat Druck auf Frauen ausübt. Gleichzeitig befasst er sich mit der Wahrnehmung des weiblichen Körpers und mit durch Geschlechtsnormen auferlegten Zwängen. Wenn das erzwungene Lächeln abstirbt, wird der Blick auf den Unrat unserer Gesellschaft frei...


Regisseur/in

Als Absolvent der Tisch Film School in New York inszenierte Carlo Mirabella-Davis 2009 seinen ersten Kurzfilm Knife Point, der in Sundance lief. Zwei Jahre später war er Co-Regisseur von The Swell Season, einer am Tribeca-Festival uraufgeführten Musikdoku. Swallow, den er geschrieben und inzeniert hat, ist sein erster Spielfilm. Der Film wurde von Joe Wright als Executive Producer unterstützt und läuft am NIFFF als internationale Premiere, nachdem er letzten April in Tribeca viel Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zog.

World Sales :

Charades

writers :

Carlo Mirabella-Davis

cast :

Haley Bennett, Austin Stowell, Denis O'Hare, Elizabeth Marvel, David Rasche, Luna Lauren Velez

Crew :
  • Music : Nathan Halpern
  • Cinematographer : Katelin Arizmendi
  • Editor : Joe Murphy