Skip links

< International Competition

The Hole in the Ground

Lee Cronin

Introspective Horror

Ireland, Finland, 2019, 90'

en sub fr, 16a

7.7, Arcades, 22:15

13.7, Arcades, 17:45

The movie

Running from her past, a young mother moves to the countryside with her son. But the boy’s behaviour changes drastically after they discover a mysterious hole in the forest... Spine-tingling.

Sarah is a single mother who moves into a somewhat isolated house with her young son Christopher to start a new life. One day, the boy goes wandering in the woods, where Sarah finds a giant sinkhole. Soon after, Christopher starts exhibiting odd behaviour, which leads his mother to wonder if something happened to him, or worse, if he really is who he pretends to be. Thus begins a dreaded descent into the terrifying depths of nature.

There aren’t that many films that can establish such an oppressive atmosphere with so much efficiency. Through his sense for framing, for narrative intelligence and for capturing the ominous beauty of the Irish landscape, Lee Cronin only needs a few minutes to immerse the audience in a spellbinding atmosphere. The Hole in the Ground is driven by a moving, nuanced mother/son relationship, anchored in the unpredictable world of supernatural folk horrors.


Director

Irish director and screenwriter Lee Cronin made a name for himself with his short film Ghost Train (NIFFF 2014), which won the Méliès d’Argent for best European fantastic short film. As a new voice in supernatural horror, Cronin delivers his first feature film with The Hole in the Ground, a movie that makes him one of the most important names among the new generation of Irish filmmakers. One thing is certain: European cinema will now have to contend with one more young master of horror.

Local Distributor :

Praesens-film Ag

cast :

Seána Kerslake, James Quinn Markey, Kati Outinen, James Cosmo, Simone Kirby, Steve Wall

Crew :
  • Music : Stephen McKeon
  • Cinematographer : Tom Comerford
  • Editor : Colin Campbell

Skip links

< International Competition

The Hole in the Ground

Lee Cronin

Introspective Horror

Ireland, Finland, 2019, 90'

en sub fr, 16a

7.7, Arcades, 22:15

13.7, Arcades, 17:45

Der Film

Vor einer dunklen Vergangenheit fliehend zieht eine junge Mutter mit ihrem Sohn aufs Land. Doch ein mysteriöses Loch im Wald scheint das Kind in seinen Bann zu ziehen... Creepy.

Die alleinerziehende Mutter Sarah zieht mit ihrem kleinen Sohn Christopher in ein abgelegenes Haus, um ein neues Leben zu beginnen. Eines Tages verschwindet er im Wald. Sarah sucht ihn und stösst auf ein riesiges Loch, bevor sie den Jungen findet. Danach verhält sich Christopher eigenartig, und seine Mutter muss sich fragen, ob ihm etwas zugestossen sein könnte – oder schlimmer noch, ob das überhaupt noch ihr Kind ist... So beginnt ein Alptraum in einer furchterregenden Natur.

Nur wenigen Filmen gelingt es, mit derartiger Effizienz eine bedrückende Atmosphäre zu schaffen. Mit seinem Sinn für komponierte Einstellungen, für wirkungsvolles Storytelling und für das Einfangen der verstörendenden Schönheit irischer Landschaften entführt uns Lee Cronin in nur wenigen Minuten in eine atemberaubende Atmosphäre. The Hole in the Ground bescheibt eine Mutter-Sohn-Beziehung mit intelligenter, herzzerreissender Vieldeutigkeit und taucht gleichzeitig ein in die vielschichtige Welt der heidnischen Folklore, die so einiges an Überraschungen bereithält.


Regisseur/in

Der irische Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Lee Cronin machte unter anderem bereits von sich reden mit dem Kurzfilm Ghost Train (NIFFF 2014), der den Silbernen Méliès für den besten europäischen fantastischen Kurzfilm gewann. Der auf übernatürlichen Horror spezialisierte Cronin präsentiert mit The Hole in the Ground seinen ersten Spielfilm und sichert sich damit auf Anhieb einen Ehrenplatz innerhalb der neuen Generation irischer Genrefilmschaffenden. Ein neues Talent des europäischen Horrors, von dem man noch viel hören wird.

Local Distributor :

Praesens-film Ag

cast :

Seána Kerslake, James Quinn Markey, Kati Outinen, James Cosmo, Simone Kirby, Steve Wall

Crew :
  • Music : Stephen McKeon
  • Cinematographer : Tom Comerford
  • Editor : Colin Campbell