Skip links

< International Competition

The Room

Christian Volckman

Supernatural Huis Clos

France, Belgium, Luxembourg, 2019, 100'

en sub fr, 14a

5.7, Arcades, 19:45

10.7, Arcades, 22:15

The movie

A young couple settles down in an old country house. During the renovations, they discover a hidden room and with it, unexpected resources...

Kate and Matt want to get out of stressful New York to recharge their batteries in the countryside. They’re lucky enough to find a charming house in New Hampshire and settle there, hoping they can find the calm and serenity they seek. They set out to explore their new home and discover a secret room which seems to make their wishes come true. Clothes, food, money… they can ask for anything, and it simply appears before them. One day, they wish into existence something they will regret ever asking for...

Based on a simple, promising idea, The Room brilliantly exploits its concept to its full potential. As the room itself slowly reveals its power and the two thirty-somethings must deal with the consequences of their actions, wonder makes way for terror, and the fairy tale turns into an absolute nightmare.


Director

Christian Volckman is a multi-talented artist who was first noticed in 1999 for his short film MAAZ. International fame awaited seven years later, with his feature debut Renaissance, an ambitious motion capture sci-fi story that made it into the Oscars preselection stage. After a decade spent working in various fields, notably music videos, Christian Volckman makes his return to the silver screen with the surprising The Room, which he co-wrote and directed.

World Sales :

Elle Driver

cast :

Olga Kurylenko, Kevin Janssens, Francis Chapman, Marianne Bourg

Crew :
  • Music : Raf Keunen
  • Cinematographer : Reynald Capurro
  • Editor : Sophie Fourdrinoy

Skip links

< International Competition

The Room

Christian Volckman

Supernatural Huis Clos

France, Belgium, Luxembourg, 2019, 100'

en sub fr, 14a

5.7, Arcades, 19:45

10.7, Arcades, 22:15

Der Film

Ein junges Paar zieht in ein altes Landhaus. Beim Renovieren stossen sie auf einen verborgenen Raum und entdecken dort unerwartete Ressourcen...

Kate und Matt möchten dem New Yorker Stress entkommen und sich auf dem Land erholen. Zufällig stossen die beiden Mittreissiger auf ein schönes Zuhause in New Hampshire, wo sie in der Hoffnung auf Ruhe und Gelassenheit einziehen. Beim Erkunden des Hauses entdecken Kate und Matt einen Geheimraum, von dem sie schnell merken, dass er ihnen Wünsche erfüllt. Kleidung, Essen, Geld: Egal wonach sie verlangen, das Geforderte materialisiert sich vor ihren Augen. Eines Tages jedoch riskieren sie einen Wunsch, den sie bereuen werden...

Ausgehend von einer so einfachen wie vielversprechenden Idee schöpft The Room das Potenzial seines Konzepts auf brillante Weise aus und geht damit an die äussersten Grenzen. Während «der Raum» nach und nach seine wahre Macht preisgibt, und die beiden Figuren die Konsequenzen ihres Handelns erfahren müssen, verwandelt sich das Staunen in Angst, und das Märchen wird zum Alptraum.


Regisseur/in

Der vielseitig talentierte Christian Volckman machte 1999 mit seinem Kurzfilm MAAZ auf sich aufmerksam und feierte sieben Jahre später mit seinem Spielfilmerstling Renaissance internationale Erfolge: Die komplexe Science-Fiction-Story war komplett in Motion Capture gedreht und schaffte es in die Vorauswahl der Oscars. Nachdem er zehn Jahre lang in verschiedenen Bereichen tätig war (u.a. für Musikvideos), kehrt Christian Volckman nun mit dem überzeugenden The Room als Co-Autor und Regisseur zum Kinofilm zurück.

World Sales :

Elle Driver

cast :

Olga Kurylenko, Kevin Janssens, Francis Chapman, Marianne Bourg

Crew :
  • Music : Raf Keunen
  • Cinematographer : Reynald Capurro
  • Editor : Sophie Fourdrinoy