Skip links

An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn

An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn

Jim Hosking

Weird Love Triangle

United States, United Kingdom, 108', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Emile Hirsch, Jemaine Clement, Aubrey Plaza

The film
Lulu Danger is on the brink of depression. Unhappy with her unsatisfying, passionless, and monotonous marriage, she works at a second-class restaurant managed by her husband, who is more interested in money than in his wife. When she hears a magician named Beverly Luff Linn will soon be stopping by a neighbourhood hotel for one of his shows, she decides to leave everything behind and set off on an adventure.

Two years after the NIFFF patrons barely survived the electric shock that was The Greasy Strangler, Jim Hosking cements his status as an unparalleled world-builder with his second film. Trading slimy humour for bizarre situation comedy, the director leverages the talent of actors well-suited to his distinctive style. With legendary dance numbers and grunting scenes, An Evening With Beverly Luff Linn should effortlessly become the NIFFF 2018’s most cult film.

The director
A Sundance regular, Jim Hosking has made a ton of crazy commercials for MTV. His short film Renegades was shown in Sundance in 2010. He then took part in the ABCs of Death 2 (2014) anthology with his segment named G Is For Grandad. His impossibly bonkers universe conquers the whole planet with The Greasy Strangler, his first feature shown at the NIFFF 2016. His mannerisms and love for pastel colours make Jim Hosking a very odd version of Wes Anderson.

Skip links

An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn

An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn

Jim Hosking

Weird Love Triangle

United States, United Kingdom, 108', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 ans

Cast: Emile Hirsch, Jemaine Clement, Aubrey Plaza

Le film
Lulu Danger est au seuil de la dépression. Malheureuse dans un mariage insatisfaisant où la monotonie l’emporte depuis longtemps sur la passion, elle travaille dans un restaurant de seconde zone géré par son mari, davantage séduit par le gain d’argent que par sa femme. Quand elle apprend qu’un magicien dénommé Beverly Luff Linn viendra bientôt dans un hôtel du coin pour y donner un spectacle, elle décide de tout plaquer et de partir à l’aventure.

Deux ans après avoir électrifié les spectateurs neuchâtelois avec The Greasy Strangler, Jim Hosking démontre avec son deuxième film qu’il est un créateur d’univers comme il en existe peu aujourd’hui. Délaissant l’humour gras au profit d’un comique de situation porté sur la bizarrerie, le réalisateur a eu la chance de pouvoir compter sur une brochette d’acteurs parfaitement adaptés à la cocasserie de son cinéma. Avec ses scènes de danse mythiques et ses séquences de grognements, An Evening With Beverly Luff Linn a tout pour devenir le film le plus culte de ce NIFFF 2018.

Le réalisateur
Habitué du festival de Sundance, Jim Hosking réalise une ribambelle de pubs délirantes pour MTV. Son court Renegades est présenté à Sundance en 2010. Il participe à l’omnibus ABCs of Death 2 (2014) avec son segment G Is For Grandad. Son univers barré éclate aux yeux du monde avec son premier long métrage, The Greasy Strangler, projeté au NIFFF 2016. Avec son maniérisme et son penchant pour les couleurs pastel, on peut déclarer sans trop se tromper que Jim Hosking est la version très bizarre de Wes Anderson.