Skip links

Climax

Climax

Gaspar Noé

Feverish Disco Vortex

France, 95', vo ENG/FRA, sub ENG, 16 Year

Cast: Romain Guillermic, Smile Kiddy, Sofia Boutella

The film
In 1996, a troupe of young dancers gather in an isolated community centre to celebrate the end of rehearsals before their American tour. A small buffet has been set up for the occasion. Behind the stage shines a huge glitter curtain that looks like the French flag. It is a time of partying, dancing, and insouciance. But when the heads start spinning, tempers flare. The sangria isn’t going down as well as anticipated…

Driven by the desire to film France’s best dancers, Gaspar Noe and his loyal DP Benoît Débie demonstrate once again the scale of their talent. Free from all limitations, the camera spins, rises, nosedives, and rotates masterfully. The astounding, nihilistic and Pasolinian approach turns the film into a danse macabre performed on an insane soundtrack. A mesmerizing, furious ballet that will blow your mind.

The director
Born in 1963 in Buenos Aires, Gaspar Noé arrives in France at the age of 12. After studying films and philosophy, he starts off as an assistant director. He is the cofounder of production studio Les Cinémas de la Zone. He is quickly nicknamed the enfant terrible of French cinema, creating movies with unequalled visual and technical skills. He wins the Narcisse award for best picture at the NIFFF 2010 for Enter the Void. Climax marks his return to the International Competition.

Skip links

Climax

Climax

Gaspar Noé

Feverish Disco Vortex

France, 95', vo ENG/FRA, sub ENG, 16 ans

Cast: Romain Guillermic, Smile Kiddy, Sofia Boutella

Le film
1996, une troupe de jeunes danseurs se retrouve dans une salle des fêtes isolée pour célébrer la fin des répétitions avant de partir en tournée américaine. Un modeste buffet a été dressé pour marquer le coup. Derrière la scène scintille un immense rideau de paillettes aux couleurs de la France. L’ambiance est à la fête, à la danse et à l’insouciance. Mais lorsque les têtes commencent à tourner, les esprits s’échauffent. Quelque chose dans la sangria passe mal…

Motivé par la volonté de filmer les meilleurs danseurs de France, Gaspar Noé démontre une fois de plus l’immensité de son talent. Avec Climax, il semble libéré de toute contrainte et, épaulé par son fidèle chef-opérateur Benoît Débie, fait virevolter sa caméra qui s’élève, tombe en piqué et pivote avec une maestria hallucinante. Dans un stupéfiant geste nihiliste et pasolinien, la fête se transforme peu à peu en danse macabre rythmée par une BO d’enfer. Un ballet hypnotique et furieux qui pulvérise la rétine.

Le réalisateur
Né en 1963 à Buenos Aires, Gaspar Noé arrive en France à l’âge de douze ans. Après des études de philosophie et de cinéma il débute en tant qu’assistant réalisateur. Il cofonde ensuite la société de production Les Cinémas de la Zone. Très vite baptisé l’enfant terrible du 7e art français, il fait montre avec chacun de ses films d’un sens de l’image et d’une maîtrise technique sans pareils dans le paysage hexagonal. Il remporte au NIFFF 2010 le Narcisse du meilleur film avec Enter the Void. Climax marque son retour en compétition internationale.

S'inscrire à la newsletter