Skip links

Cutterhead

Cutterhead

Rasmus Kloster Bro

Claustrophobic Survival

Denmark, 84', vo DAN, sub ENG/FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Christine Sønderris, Krešimir Mikic, Samson Semere
Contact: Danish Film Institute (DK)

The film
Rie is the PR manager of a new underground project. She goes to the huge construction site to ask the staff some questions. As she monitors the operations, alarms start sounding. Something is wrong. Panic spreads, and Rie finds shelter in a pressurized airlock with two workers. Trapped in this confined space with dwindling reserves of air and water, they will soon discover that fighting for survival implies letting out one’s baser instincts.

Claustrophobes beware: Cutterhead is going to test your limits! With his first feature film, Rasmus Kloster Bro explores the darkest recesses of the human species through a suffocating huis clos in which mud and sweat hide a contemporarily potent allegory. Its striking visuals and decaying characters make it a harrowing experience that provokes physical reactions that are difficult to forget.

The director
Danish director Rasmus Kloster Bro was born in 1985 in the North West of Jutland. He studied at the Danish Film School Super16 before going into fiction radio shows, short films, music videos, and video installations. His films Kiss My Brother (2010) and Barvalo (2012) won several festival awards. Cutterhead, which is receiving its world premiere at the NIFFF, was financed through a new programme from the Danish Film Institute, dedicated to helping young filmmakers make their first feature.

Skip links

Cutterhead

Cutterhead

Rasmus Kloster Bro

Claustrophobic Survival

Denmark, 84', vo DAN, sub ENG/FRA, 16 ans

Cast: Christine Sønderris, Krešimir Mikic, Samson Semere
Contact: Danish Film Institute (DK)

Le film
En charge des relations publiques d’un nouveau métro en construction, Rie se rend sur les lieux de l’immense chantier afin de poser quelques questions au personnel. Elle assiste à une opération quand les sirènes d’alarme se mettent soudainement à retentir. Quelque chose cloche. Tandis que la panique se répand, Rie se réfugie dans un sas pressurisé où se trouvent deux travailleurs. Coincés dans cet espace exigu où l’air et l’eau se raréfient, ils vont découvrir que l’envie de survivre révèle les plus bas instincts de l’homme.

Que les claustrophobes soient prévenus : Cutterhead risque de vous faire suer à grosses gouttes ! Pour son premier long métrage, Rasmus Kloster Bro explore les recoins les plus sombres de l’être humain en mettant en scène ce huis clos étouffant où la boue et la sueur cachent une allégorie à la pertinence toute contemporaine. Avec son esthétique coup de poing et ses personnages en décomposition, le réalisateur signe un film fortement anxiogène qui provoque des sensations physiques difficilement oubliables.

Le réalisateur
Originaire du nord-ouest de la région du Jutland, le Danois Rasmus Kloster Bro nait en 1985. Il suit des études à la Danish Film School Super16 avant d’œuvrer dans la fiction radiophonique, les courts métrages, les clips et les installations vidéo. Ses films Kiss My Brother (2010) et Barvalo (2012) remportent plusieurs prix en festivals. Cutterhead, présenté ici en première mondiale, a été financé par une nouvelle bourse du Danish Film Institute aidant les jeunes cinéastes à passer plus rapidement le cap du premier long métrage.