Skip links

Diamantino

Diamantino

Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt

Ultimate FIFA World Cup Alternative

Portugal, France, Brazil, 92', vo POR, sub FRA/ENG, 14 Year

Cast: Carloto Cotta, Carla Maciel, Filipe Vargas

The film
Slicked back hair, Apollo’s body, diamond earrings… Diamantino is the greatest soccer star. Guided by visions of giant poodles, he goes right through every defence on Earth. But one day, his gift simply vanishes during the World Cup’s final game. Thus starts a perilous existential journey for Ronaldo’s spiritual twin.

Diamantino is a pop maelstrom that blends all genres and aesthetic trends. The directing duo sets their sight on – and sets aflame! – everything they can: crime film, science-fiction, romance, political tale, neo fascism, migrant crisis, transhumanism, and giant dogs live alongside each other in scope as well as in 16 mm. Imagine if Kenneth Anger had engineered a mix between a classic Hollywood comedy and Zoolander. Needless to say, the end result is legendary, but also simultaneously naive and tender. No actual soccer game will ever be as exciting!

The directors
Gabriel Abrantes and Daniel Schmidt – dark-haired Portuguese and blond American, respectively – were born in the USA in 1984. Gabriel studied the fine arts in a New York public school, while Daniel went to the city’s Tish School of Arts. They met in 2006 and started collaborating on short and medium-length films that get noticed. Diamantino, their first feature, was shown at Cannes’ International Critics’ Week.

Skip links

Diamantino

Diamantino

Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt

Ultimate FIFA World Cup Alternative

Portugal, France, Brazil, 92', vo POR, sub FRA/ENG, 14 ans

Cast: Carloto Cotta, Carla Maciel, Filipe Vargas

Le film
Cheveux gominés, corps d’Apollon, diamants aux oreilles, Diamantino est une icône absolue du football. Guidé par des apparitions de caniches géants, il terrasse les meilleures défenses du monde, jusqu’au jour où son génie disparaît, en pleine finale de Coupe du monde. Commence alors pour ce sosie de Ronaldo un délirant périple aux enjeux existentiels.

Véritable météore pop, Diamantino est un maelström dans lequel tous les genres et toutes les esthétiques s’entrechoquent. Le duo de réalisateurs embrasse – et embrase ! – tout ce qu’il peut : polar, science-fiction, romance, conte politique, néofascisme, crise des migrants, transhumanisme et chiens géants se côtoient aussi bien en scope qu’en 16mm. Imaginez Kenneth Anger qui aurait croisé en laboratoire une comédie hollywoodienne classique avec Zoolander. Inutile de préciser que l’opération accouche d’un spectacle à la portée mythique où se mêlent naïveté et tendresse. Plus exaltant que n’importe quel match de la Coupe du monde !

Les réalisateurs
Ils sont nés en 1984, aux Etats-Unis. « Ils », c’est Gabriel Abrantes et Daniel Schmidt. Le premier est portugais, le second américain. L’un est brun, l’autre blond. Alors que Gabriel étudie les beaux-arts dans une école gratuite de New York, Daniel fréquente la Tish School of Arts de la même ville. En 2006, les deux jeunes hommes se rencontrent et commencent à cosigner des courts et moyens métrages qui se font rapidement remarquer. Présenté à la Semaine de la critique de Cannes, Diamantino est leur premier long.