Skip links

Hereditary

Hereditary

Ari Aster

Instant Classic Ultimate Horror

United States, 120', vo ENG, sub FRA/DEU, 16 Year

Cast: Toni Collette, Gabriel Byrne, Alex Wolff

The film
It all starts with a funeral. Annie Graham just lost her mother Ellen. Surprised at how little sadness she feels, she begins to think of her family ties. Why did Ellen take so much interest in her granddaughter, a child whose anxiety transpires through asymmetrical features and the haunted look in her eyes? What were the matriarch’s enigmatic rituals all about? To solve those mysteries, Annie convinces her family to move into the deceased’s house, a nest of secrets they’d had probably better leave buried. The Grahams will soon learn that the family heritage can be a burden to bear.

Unpredictable, nerve-racking, radical… Hereditary is a shock that is hard to accurately describe. By conjuring an incredible sense of suspense and using dizzying variations of scales, Ari Aster offers up a nightmarish vision of the family unit. No film had thus managed to strike fear at the very heart of its audience since The Exorcist! You are warned.

The director
After completing his studies at the American Film Institute, Ari Aster makes a name for himself in 2011 at the Slamdance Film Festival, thanks to The Strange Thing About the Johnsons. This very controversial short film is about the incestuous relationship of an African American family. Five short films later, the New Yorker is causing a sensation thanks to his first feature. With the universally acclaimed Hereditary, Aster has entered the running for the title of new horror master.

Skip links

Hereditary

Hereditary

Ari Aster

Instant Classic Ultimate Horror

United States, 120', vo ENG, sub FRA/DEU, 16 ans

Cast: Toni Collette, Gabriel Byrne, Alex Wolff

Le film
Tout commence par un enterrement. Annie Graham vient de perdre sa mère Ellen. Interpellée par le peu de chagrin qu’elle ressent, la femme s’interroge sur ses relations familiales. Pourquoi Ellen s’intéressait-elle autant à sa petite fille, une gamine dont l’angoisse transparaît dans ses traits asymétriques et son regard hanté ? Quelle était la nature des mystérieux rituels de la matriarche ? Annie entame une enquête qui va lui faire déterrer des secrets qu’il valait peut-être mieux ne pas exhumer. Les Graham vont en effet apprendre que le patrimoine familial est parfois lourd à porter.

Imprévisible, terriblement angoissant, radical… Les superlatifs manquent pour décrire le choc que représente Hereditary. Avec un sens de la tension inouï et un vertigineux jeu sur les échelles, Ari Aster nous plonge dans une vision cauchemardesque de la famille. Aucun film n’avait atteint ce niveau de terreur depuis L’Exorciste ! Vous voilà prévenus.

Le réalisateur
Après des études à l’American Film Institute, Ari Aster se fait remarquer en 2011 au Slamdance Film Festival avec The Strange Thing About the Johnsons. Très controversé, ce premier court métrage met en scène une relation incestueuse dans une famille afro-américaine. Aujourd’hui, après cinq autres courts, le réalisateur new-yorkais crée le buzz intersidéral avec son premier long. Acclamé de toute part, Hereditary fait de lui un des prétendants au trône du nouveau maître de l’horreur.