Skip links

Kasane – Beauty and Fate

Kasane – Beauty and Fate

Satô Yûichi

Shakespearean Dark Tale

Japan, 100', vo JPN, sub FRA/ENG, 14 Year

Cast: Yokoyama Yu, Tsuchiya Tao, Yoshine Kyôko

The film
Kasane dreams of a life on stage, but a huge face scar prevents her from showing off her natural talent. Everything changes when she inherits a magical lipstick from her mother, which allows her to take on the appearance of the people she kisses. It’s obviously too good an opportunity to pass up, so she makes a strange deal with the beautiful Nina, an aspiring actress. But how far is Kasane prepared to go to keep Nina’s face?

This adaptation of the successful Kasane manga combines Japanese folklore with Western dramaturgy to explore the Shakespearean torments of the characters, played by two wonderful young actresses. Their ambivalent, poisonous relationship will reach unimaginable intensity as the truth will force them to drop the act. Let this remind you why black magic always comes with suffering…

The director
55-year-old Satô Yûichi was born in Tokyo. His manga adaptations have made him a household name in Japan. In 2015, he directed Poison Berry In My Brain, a delightful romantic comedy about a 30-something confused by the many voices she hears. A prolific and versatile filmmaker, he has worked for the film and television industries. This is his take on mangaka Matsuura Daruma’s thought-provoking series.

Skip links

Kasane – Beauty and Fate

Kasane – Beauty and Fate

Satô Yûichi

Shakespearean Dark Tale

Japan, 100', vo JPN, sub FRA/ENG, 14 ans

Cast: Yokoyama Yu, Tsuchiya Tao, Yoshine Kyôko

Le film
Alors qu’elle rêve de jouer sur scène, Kasane souffre de cette balafre qui la défigure et éclipse son talent naturel. Le rouge à lèvres magique qu’elle hérite de sa mère va tout changer : celui-ci lui permet en effet de s’emparer de l’apparence de la personne qu’elle embrasse. Une opportunité pour l’actrice qui sommeille en elle de s’épanouir. Pour ce faire, elle met en place un étrange marché avec la belle Nina, aspirante comédienne. Mais jusqu’où ira l’ambitieuse Kasane pour conserver le visage inaltéré de Nina ?

Dans cette adaptation du manga à succès Kasane, la voleuse de visage, les légendes du folklore nippon se mêlent à la dramaturgie occidentale pour explorer les tourments shakespeariens des deux protagonistes, incarnés par deux jeunes actrices talentueuses. À mesure que les masques tombent, celles-ci révèlent un fascinant double jeu qui nourrit avec intensité la relation ambivalente et malsaine de leurs personnages. Un rappel, si nécessaire, que l’utilisation de la magie noire vaut son pesant de malheur…

Le réalisateur
Satô Yûichi, 55 ans, est né à Tokyo. Ses adaptations de mangas lui valent une certaine renommée au Japon. En 2015, il signe notamment Poison Berry In My Brain, une comédie romantique joyeuse qui met en scène une trentenaire tourmentée dans ses choix amoureux par ses nombreuses voix intérieures. Créateur prolifique et véritable touche-à-tout, il tourne à la fois pour la télévision et le cinéma. Il s’attaque aujourd’hui à l’œuvre sulfureuse de la mangaka à succès Matsuura Daruma.