Skip links

Luz

Luz

Tilman Singer

Hypnotic Possession Tale

Germany, 70', vo SPA/DEU, sub ENG/FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Jan Bluthardt, Johannes Benecke, Lilli Lorenz

The film
At a bar, Nora intoxicates and charms a police psychiatrist. An easy prey, he soon becomes the new vessel for the demon in Nora’s body, who is getting closer to the object of his desire. In the meantime, Luz, a young taxi driver who has been hurt and is disoriented, goes to a police station before launching into strange prayers. The aforementioned psychiatrist is called in. Under the police’s supervision, he hypnotizes her in order to get her statement. A spiritual journey ensues…

Past, present, fantasies, and realities intertwine in this mesmerizing film where sounds and repetitions create an accented atmosphere and call on the audience to use their senses intensely. The beautiful score adds to this unique experience. The film was shot entirely at night on 16 mm. With its fresh take on possession, this poetic and harrowing thriller reinvents his sensory stimuli on a constant basis. A special, enthralling kind of film.

The director
Born in 1988, young German artist Tilman Singer went to the Cologne Academy of Media Arts in 2011, where he studied directing, writing, sound design, and animation. He directed several short films (some in stop motion animation), as well as music videos and commercials. Selected at the Berlinale, Luz is his debut feature, which he produced with the same collaborators he had on his previous projects, including his creative partner Dario Méndez Acosta.

Skip links

Luz

Luz

Tilman Singer

Hypnotic Possession Tale

Germany, 70', vo SPA/DEU, sub ENG/FRA, 16 ans

Cast: Jan Bluthardt, Johannes Benecke, Lilli Lorenz

Le film
Accoudée au bar, Nora enivre et séduit rapidement un psychiatre employé par la police. Proie facile, il deviendra le nouveau vaisseau du démon qui habite la femme. Pendant ce temps, Luz, une jeune chauffeuse de taxi blessée et déboussolée, pénètre dans un commissariat. Elle entonne d’étranges prières. Le psychiatre la rejoint. Sous la surveillance de ses collègues, il l’hypnotise pour obtenir son témoignage. Un voyage surnaturel s’ensuit…

Passé, présent, fantasmes et réalité s’entremêlent dans ce film hypnotisant où les sons et les répétitions créent une atmosphère lourde et sollicitent intensément les sens du spectateur. Sublime, la musique participe activement à développer une expérience unique pour cette œuvre entièrement tournée de nuit et en pellicule 16mm. Traitant de la possession comme jamais auparavant, ce thriller poétique et angoissant construit un univers sensoriel qui ne cesse de se réinventer. Une œuvre singulière mais complètement envoûtante.

Le réalisateur
Né en 1988, Tilman Singer a étudié en 2011 à l’Academy of Media Arts de Cologne, qui l’a initié non seulement à la réalisation mais également à l’écriture de scénario, à l’art sonore et à l’animation. Il a réalisé plusieurs courts métrages – notamment en stop motion –, ainsi que des clips et des spots publicitaires. Sélectionné à la Berlinale, Luz est son premier long métrage. Il a par ailleurs tenu à le produire avec sa « famille de cinéma » – dont fait partie Dario Méndez Acosta, son partenaire créatif –, avec qui il a travaillé sur ses précédents projets.