Skip links

Mandy

Mandy

Panos Cosmatos

Death Metal Revenge Splatter

United States, Belgium, 121', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Nicolas Cage, Linus Roache, Andrea Riseborough

The film
Red and Mandy live happily, away from civilisation in a cabin in the mountain woods. One day, a cult invades their land and their life changes for the worst. Jeremiah Sand, leader of the fanatics, has Mandy kidnapped, and ultimately killed. Left for dead, Red eventually awakes to the realisation that he has lost everything, including his sense of reality. Revenge is the only thing that remains. Enraged and armed to the teeth, he sets out on a bloody killing spree, determined to slay every last one of the cult members.

An unrecognisable Andrea Riseborough and a possessed Nicolas Cage make Mandy an out-of-this-world experience. The main actor’s surreal performance and the outrageously gore aspects of the film strengthen the psychedelic atmosphere and blur the limits of reality. An orgasmic, visceral revenge tale that borders on the supernatural and offers enthralling visuals.

The director
Son of George P. Cosmatos (Rambo II), Panos Cosmatos started out as a camera assistant on his father’s second-to-last film Tombstone (1993). He put on the director’s hat in 2010 for Beyond the Black Rainbow, a strange sci-fi thriller that boasts a fascinating cinematography and doesn’t go unnoticed. Mandy, his second feature, allows the Italian-Canadian director to deliver another visually stunning film that seems to be burning with angst from beginning to end.

Skip links

Mandy

Mandy

Panos Cosmatos

Death Metal Revenge Splatter

United States, Belgium, 121', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 ans

Cast: Nicolas Cage, Linus Roache, Andrea Riseborough

Le film
Isolés du monde, Red et Mandy vivent heureux dans leur petite cabane perdue en pleine forêt de montagne. Un jour, une secte envahit leur paradis et tout bascule : Jeremiah Sand, le leader du groupe fanatique, ordonne le kidnapping de Mandy, qui finit par être tuée. Laissé pour mort, Red revient finalement à lui et réalise qu’il a tout perdu, y compris le sens du réel. Ne subsiste alors que son insatiable soif de vengeance. Armé jusqu’aux dents et habité d’une rage terrible, il s’engage dans une vendetta sanglante, bien décidé à massacrer un à un tous les membres de la secte.

Porté par une Andrea Riseborough méconnaissable et surtout par un Nicolas Cage plus habité que jamais, Mandy propose une expérience hallucinée. La performance surréaliste de son acteur, comme les nombreux effets outrageusement gores, s’inscrivent au cœur d’une atmosphère psychédélique qui joue avec les frontières de la réalité. Un récit de vengeance jouissif et viscéral, aux atours violemment fantastiques et à l’esthétique complètement enivrante.

Le réalisateur
Fils de George P. Cosmatos (Rambo II), Panos Cosmatos débute comme assistant caméraman sur l’avant-dernier film de son père, Tombstone (1993). Il passe pour la première fois à la réalisation en 2010 avec Beyond the Black Rainbow. Cet étrange thriller science-fictionnel ne passe pas inaperçu et fascine déjà par son visuel. Avec Mandy, son deuxième long métrage, le réalisateur italo-canadien propose à nouveau une œuvre visuellement puissante, qu’une tension ardente semble consumer par les deux bouts.

S'inscrire à la newsletter