Skip links

Muere, monstruo, muere

Muere, monstruo, muere

Alejandro Fadel

Metaphysical Monster Movie

Argentina, France, Chile, 109', vo SPA, sub FRA/ENG, 16 Year

Cast: Esteban Bigliardi, Francisco Carrasco, Tania Casciani

The film
The decapitated body of a woman is found in the middle of a sheep herd. Her husband becomes the prime suspects and is sent to a psychiatric facility, even though he insists he is innocent and claims a monster did it. The police officer in charge of the investigation – also incidentally the victim’s former lover – slowly comes to believe him as other murders occur. In the meantime, the husband keeps hearing the same voice over and over again saying “Die, monster, die…”

Although it starts off as a crime film, Muere, Monstruo, Muere quickly steps into horror territory. As it focuses on the protagonist’s tortured mind, the narrative is ripe with hallucinations to convey a progressive, powerful feeling of fear. The elusive, relentless monster stands for a very real social violence. The plot eventually turns into a descent into insanity.

The director
The directorial debut of Buenos Aires University Film School graduate Alejandro Fadel is El Amor – primera parte, co-directed with Martín Mauregui in 2005. He also studied screenwriting, and wrote three scripts for Pablo Trapero, namely Leonera (2008), Carancho (2010), and Elefante Blanco (2012). In 2012, he directed the internationally acclaimed Los Salvajes on his own. Muere, Monstruo, Muere is his second solo feature.

Skip links

Muere, monstruo, muere

Muere, monstruo, muere

Alejandro Fadel

Metaphysical Monster Movie

Argentina, France, Chile, 109', vo SPA, sub FRA/ENG, 16 ans

Cast: Esteban Bigliardi, Francisco Carrasco, Tania Casciani

Le film
Le corps d’une femme décapitée est retrouvé au milieu d’un troupeau de moutons. Le mari d’une seconde victime est accusé des meurtres et se retrouve interné dans un hôpital psychiatrique. Clamant son innocence, il prétend qu’un monstre est le vrai coupable. L’officier en charge de l’enquête, qui se trouve être également l’ancien amant de la défunte, commence progressivement à croire à cette histoire lorsque d’autres crimes similaires sont commis. Pendant qu’il investigue, le principal suspect continue d’entendre une mystérieuse voix lui répéter en boucle : « Meurs, monstre, meurs »…

Démarrant comme un polar, Muere, Monstruo, Muere développe une ambiance angoissante qui colle à la peau. Plongeant dans l’esprit torturé du protagoniste, le récit embrasse pleinement les hallucinations dont il est victime et instille progressivement un puissant sentiment de peur. Incarnation d’une violence sociale bien réelle, le monstre est aussi insaisissable qu’implacable. Sa traque se transforme alors en une terrifiante descente dans l’antre de la folie. 

Le réalisateur
Diplômé de l’Université du cinéma de Buenos Aires, Alejandro Fadel signe son premier long métrage en 2005 avec El Amor – primera parte, qu’il coréalise avec Martín Mauregui. En parallèle, il suit une carrière de scénariste, écrivant notamment trois scripts pour Pablo Trapero : Leonera (2008), Carancho (2010) et Elefante Blanco (2012). En 2012, il met seul en scène Los Salvajes, dont la réputation retentit à l’international. Muere, Monstruo, Muere est le second film qu’il écrit et réalise lui-même.