Skip links

Piercing

Piercing

Nicolas Pesce

Neo-Giallo Sadistic Thriller

United States, 81', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Mia Wasikowska, Olivia Bond, Christopher Abbott

The film
About to go on a business trip, Redd kisses his wife and son goodbye, then leaves. Except he is not really going to travel. He goes to the hotel room he had booked in order to fulfil desires he has been restraining since childhood and prepares to murder the prostitute he has hired with the tools in his luggage. At least, that’s the plan, because his intricate scheme is going to take a very unexpected turn.

Piercing is a Murakami Ryū short story adaptation conceived as a stirring homage to 1970s Italian cinema. Making good use of split screens and giallo-inspired music, Nicolas Pesce anchors his surrealistic and sadomasochistic world within a referential frame that makes it a pure cinephile pleasure. The strange relationship that develops between the main characters is both fascinating and unsettling. It questions customs and redefines the game of cat and mouse. How could we complain?

The director 
Born in 1990, Nicolas Pesce studied at the NYU Tisch School of the Arts. He directed over 30 videos for artists such as Snoop Dogg and The Black Keys before going into feature films. His excellent horror film The Eyes of My Mother propelled him to the world’s stage in 2016 at the Sundance festival. Pesce also created an animated show Malcolm McDowell and J.K. Simmons were involved with. Piercing is his second feature. He is currently working on a new version of The Grudge.

Skip links

Piercing

Piercing

Nicolas Pesce

Neo-Giallo Sadistic Thriller

United States, 81', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 ans

Cast: Mia Wasikowska, Olivia Bond, Christopher Abbott

Le film
Au moment de partir en voyage d’affaires, Redd embrasse sa femme et son fils puis saisit sa valise et s’en va. Sauf que Redd ne part pas en voyage. À la place, il se rend dans un hôtel pour assouvir des pulsions qu’il réfrène depuis l’enfance : il s’octroie les services d’une prostituée qu’il compte tuer avec le nécessaire qu’il a soigneusement emporté dans sa valise. Du moins, c’est ce qui est prévu, car le plan qu’il a savamment orchestré va prendre une tournure pour le moins inattendue.

Adaptation d’une nouvelle de Murakami Ryū, Piercing s’offre comme un hommage vibrant au cinéma italien des années 1970. Avec son usage savant du split-screen et ses emprunts musicaux au giallo, Nicolas Pesce ancre son univers surréaliste et sadomasochiste dans un écrin référentiel qui se présente comme un pur plaisir cinéphile. L’étrange relation qui se tisse entre les protagonistes fascine autant qu’elle dérange, bousculant les mœurs tout en réinventant le jeu du chat et de la souris. On ne saurait bouder notre plaisir !

Le réalisateur
Né en 1990, Nicolas Pesce est formé à la Tisch School of the Arts de New York. Il réalise plus d’une trentaine de vidéos pour des artistes comme Snoop Dogg et The Black Keys avant de passer au long métrage. Son excellent film d’horreur The Eyes of My Mother le révèle en 2016 au festival de Sundance. Pesce est également à l’origine d’une série d’animation à laquelle Malcolm McDowell et J.K. Simmons ont participé. Piercing est son deuxième long métrage. Il travaille actuellement sur une nouvelle version de The Grudge.