Skip links

Pig (Khook)

Pig (Khook)

Mani Haghighi

Surreal Slasher Comedy

Iran, 105', vo FAS, sub DEU/FRA/ENG, 16 Year

Cast: Leili Rashidi, Hasan Majuni, Leila Hatami

The film
Hasan Kasmai is an Iranian director with an oversized ego whose career has recently taken a downturn. As an artist blacklisted by the authorities, he must settle for insecticide commercials. If the nosedive in popularity wasn’t enough, his favourite actress leaves to work for his rival. Worse still is the fact that the serial killer targeting Tehran’s most famous directors seems to completely ignore him. When he becomes a suspect, the public once again takes interest in him, just not the way he was hoping for.

Somewhere between a black comedy and a whimsical thriller, Pig looks critically at today’s Iranian regime. Brushing aside the stereotypes often associated with it, he asks questions about male/female interactions, freedom of speech, and the national culture in the digital age. At a time when narcissism and the thirst for fame reign supreme, social networks are apparently just as bad as the political and religious institutions in terms of blind punishment and absurd censorship.

The director
Born in 1969, Mani Haghighi has been energising Iranian cinema for many years. In 2006, he proves his skills for dark comedies with Men at Work. His 2016 effort, A Dragon Arrives!, creates a buzz and is selected at the Berlinale. Just like Pig, this fantastical crime film could be seen as a cutting critique of contemporary Iran. Though he never states the obvious or indulges in stereotypes, Mani Haghighi uses humour to put his country’s issues into perspective.

Skip links

Pig (Khook)

Pig (Khook)

Mani Haghighi

Surreal Slasher Comedy

Iran, 105', vo FAS, sub DEU/FRA/ENG, 16 ans

Cast: Leili Rashidi, Hasan Majuni, Leila Hatami

Le film
Hasan Kasmai, réalisateur iranien à l’égo surdimensionné, voit sa carrière sombrer depuis quelques temps. Mis sur liste noire par les autorités, il en est réduit aux publicités pour insecticide. Sa popularité est en chute libre et son actrice fétiche lui annonce qu’elle part tourner avec son rival. Pire encore, le tueur en série qui assassine un à un les réalisateurs les plus fameux de Téhéran ne semble lui accorder aucun intérêt. Lorsqu’il est lui-même soupçonné d’être l’auteur de ces meurtres, le public lui porte à nouveau de l’attention – mais pas celle qu’il espérait !

À mi-chemin entre la comédie noire et le thriller fantasque, Pig (Khook) porte un regard grinçant sur la société iranienne. En dynamitant les stéréotypes associés à celle-ci, le film questionne autant les rapports homme-femme que la liberté d’expression et la culture à l’ère du numérique. À une époque régie par le narcissisme et la soif de succès, les réseaux sociaux n’ont apparemment rien à envier aux autorités politico-religieuses en matière de condamnation aveugle et de censure absurde.

Le réalisateur
Né en 1969, Mani Haghighi insuffle sa créativité au cinéma iranien depuis de nombreuses années. En 2006, il faisait déjà preuve d’un talent certain pour la comédie noire avec Men at Work. Il frappe fort en 2016 avec A Dragon Arrives!, sélectionné à la Berlinale. À l’image de Pig (Khook), ce polar mâtiné de fantastique se posait en critique acerbe de l’Iran d’aujourd’hui. Tout en évitant les lapalissades et les idées reçues, Mani Haghighi interroge la société iranienne à travers le spectre de l’humour.