Skip links

The Dark

The Dark

Justin P. Lange

Zombie Flick Of The New Kind

Austria, 91', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Nadia Alexander, Toby Nichols, Karl Markovics

The film
A man on the run brings the boy he kidnapped to a supposedly haunted forest. Although he thought he would find a safe haven there, it turns out there does seem to be a monster in the woods. The boy is rescued by a mysterious young girl he eventually befriends. But his eyes have been sewn together by his abductor, and he cannot see what his new companion looks like: a livid, scarred, scrawny face, glazed eyes, and a mouth full of blood. She’s the monster in the woods.

Focusing on children that have not been spared by the horrors of life (to say the least), The Dark follows in the footsteps of Let the Right One In. The ghost story meets the zombie film in this sweet ramble in the forest. Visually pleasing and musically entrancing, The Dark has a bewitching atmosphere, terrifying and realistic themes, as well as troubling and tragic characters. Where can one find humanity in the heart of such a dark and distressing world?

The directors
A graduate of Columbia University, Justin P. Lange started his career with short films: Something Left (2008), Vater Paul (2010), and The Dark in 2013. This is his debut directorial feature. Klemens Hufnagl studied at the Vienna Film Academy before making a name for himself as a director of photography, notably on Macondo (2014) and Brothers of the Night (2016). They collaborated on Vater Paul and The Dark, the feature-length version of which they directed together.

Skip links

The Dark

The Dark

Justin P. Lange

Zombie Flick Of The New Kind

Austria, 91', vo ENG, sub FRA, 16 ans

Cast: Nadia Alexander, Toby Nichols, Karl Markovics

Le film
Fuyant les autorités, un homme emmène le garçon qu’il a kidnappé dans une forêt prétendument hantée. Mais en lieu et place d’un refuge sûr, il découvre qu’un monstre vit bel et bien dans ces bois. Le garçon séquestré est secouru par une mystérieuse jeune fille avec qui il se lie d’amitié. Ayant eu les paupières cousues par son ravisseur, il ignore à quoi ressemble sa compagne d’infortune : le visage livide, balafré, décharné, les yeux vitreux, la bouche ensanglantée. Le monstre qui hante la forêt, c’est elle.

Mettant en scène des enfants cabossés par la vie (ici, c’est peu dire), The Dark marche dans les pas de Let the Right One In. Une errance au milieu des bois qui se pose en doux mélange entre l’histoire de fantôme et le film de zombie. Avec son visuel soigné et sa musique lancinante, The Dark envoûte par son atmosphère, terrifie par ses thèmes violemment réels, et bouleverse par ses personnages inquiétants et tragiques. Quel regain d’humanité peut-on espérer au cœur de cet univers terne et désespéré ?

Les réalisateurs
Diplômé de l’Université de Columbia, Justin P. Lange débute par la réalisation de courts métrages : Something Left (2008), Vater Paul (2010) et The Dark (2013). Il s’agit de son premier long métrage en tant que réalisateur. Klemens Hufnagl étudie quant à lui à la Vienna Film Academy avant de se distinguer comme chef-opérateur, notamment sur Macondo (2014) et Brothers of the Night (2016). Les deux compères collaborent sur Vater Paul et The Dark, dont ils coréalisent la version longue.