Skip links

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Issa López

Kids Kicking The World’s Ass

Mexico, 83', vo SPA, sub FRA/ENG, 16 Year

Cast: Rodrigo Cortés, Hanssel Casillas, Paola Lara
Contact: Peligrosa (MX)

The film
10-year-old orphan Estrella is fascinated with fairy tales and dreams of being a princess. One night, she makes a wish to be reunited with her recently deceased mother. It does come true, except she comes back as a rather unsettling ghost. Estrella runs away and takes shelter with a gang of street kids. As her new friends grow fond of her, she accommodates to the hardships of their life. As young as they are, they must make their stand against the local cartel.

Tigers Are Not Afraid is a beautifully grim coming-of-age movie that offers an uncompromising descent into the war between Mexican cartels. Like Pan’s Labyrinth, the story seamlessly combines direct naturalism and nightmarish oneirism. This Mexican revelation inevitably won over Guillermo del Toro, a die-hard fan of the film alongside Stephen King, who has announced he will produce its talented director’s next project.

The director
Mexican filmmaker Issa López started off as a television writer, notably for the Laberintos de pasión telenovela. She then transitioned to the big screen and wrote the Disney romantic comedy Ladies Night, which became one of Mexico’s most successful films ever. In 2006, she directed her first feature Efectos Secundarios. After the 2008 film Casi Divas, Tigers Are Not Afraid is her third movie.

Skip links

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Issa López

Kids Kicking The World’s Ass

Mexico, 83', vo SPA, sub FRA/ENG, 16 ans

Cast: Rodrigo Cortés, Hanssel Casillas, Paola Lara
Contact: Peligrosa (MX)

Le film
Estrella, une orpheline de 10 ans, est fascinée par les contes de fée et rêve d’être la princesse de l’un d’eux. Un soir, elle fait le vœu de retrouver sa mère, récemment décédée. Son souhait est exaucé, mais sa génitrice revient sous la forme d’un fantôme plutôt angoissant. Fuyant pour lui échapper, Estrella trouve refuge auprès d’un gang d’enfants des rues. À mesure que ses nouveaux compagnons l’acceptent, la jeune fille découvre l’horreur de leur quotidien. Du haut de leur jeune âge, ils n’auront d’autre choix que d’affronter le cartel local.

Conte initiatique à la beauté macabre, Tigers Are Not Afraid propose une plongée sans concession au cœur de la guerre des cartels mexicains. À l’image du Labyrinthe de Pan, le récit mêle harmonieusement naturalisme frontal et onirisme cauchemardesque. Cette perle mexicaine a forcément séduit Stephen King ainsi que Guillermo del Toro, admirateur invétéré du film. Ce dernier a d’ores et déjà annoncé qu’il allait produire le prochain projet de sa talentueuse réalisatrice.

La réalisatrice
Originaire de Mexico, Issa López débute comme scénariste à la télévision et fait ses premières armes sur la telenovela Laberintos de pasión. Elle finit par quitter la petite lucarne pour le grand écran, écrivant pour Disney la comédie romantique Ladies Night qui devient l’un des plus gros succès de l’histoire du cinéma mexicain. En 2006, Issa López réalise Efectos Secundarios, son premier long métrage. Après Casi Divas en 2008, Tigers Are Not Afraid est son troisième film.