Skip links

Time Share

Time Share

Sebastián Hofmann

Holiday Home Invasion

Mexico, Netherlands, 96', vo SPA, sub FRA/ENG, 14 Year

Cast: Luis Gerardo Méndez, Cassandra Ciangherotti, Miguel Rodarte

The film
The heavenly holidays Pedro had planned on spending with his wife and son at a seaside resort don’t seem to be in the cards for him. Although the family is forced to share their villa with particularly rude strangers, Pedro feels like he is the only one bothered by the situation. To make matters worse, the staff is so unscrupulous they might just cause a deadly accident…

After Halley (2013), Sebastián Hofmann continues to explore the horror of everyday life through ordinary people. The massive holiday resort decorum stands as a dehumanizing framework that heightens the rising feeling of fear experienced by the characters. Surrealistic and troubling visions emerge from the elegant aesthetics, giving this absurdist comedy the qualities of a baroque horror piece. A disconcerting take on alienation that will have you think twice about booking your next holidays.

The director
A graduate of the Pasadena Art Center College of Design, Mexican filmmaker Sebastián Hofmann started off as a visual artist. In 2011, he co-founded his Mexico-based distribution and production company Piano. His first feature, Halley (2013), which was about a night watchman with a decaying body, created the buzz in Sundance. Four years on, he won the award for best screenplay at the same festival with Time Share, his second film.

Skip links

Time Share

Time Share

Sebastián Hofmann

Holiday Home Invasion

Mexico, Netherlands, 96', vo SPA, sub FRA/ENG, 14 ans

Cast: Luis Gerardo Méndez, Cassandra Ciangherotti, Miguel Rodarte

Le film
Tout juste arrivé dans un complexe balnéaire pour des vacances paradisiaques avec sa femme et son fils, Pedro voit le sort s’acharner contre lui : non seulement il est forcé de partager sa villa avec des inconnus, mais en plus ceux-ci s’avèrent horriblement désagréables. Exaspéré par cette situation, le père de famille semble pourtant être le seul à subir ces colocataires d’infortune. Une configuration explosive que n’arrange en rien un personnel sans scrupule, à la limite de provoquer des accidents mortels…

Après Halley (2013), Sebastián Hofmann prolonge son exploration de la banalité de l’horreur par le biais de personnages ordinaires. L’architecture massive de l’industrie des vacances offre un cadre déshumanisant qui sert parfaitement le sentiment croissant d’effroi éprouvé par les personnages. Des touches surréalistes et des motifs inquiétants émergent de ce visuel élégant et confèrent à cette comédie absurde des traits d’horreur baroque. Une évocation déroutante de l’aliénation balnéaire qui risque de vous faire reconsidérer vos prochaines vacances au Club Med.

Le réalisateur
Diplômé de l’Art Center College of Design de Pasadena, le Mexicain Sebastián Hofmann débute sa carrière en tant qu’artiste visuel. En 2011, il co-fonde à Mexico la société de distribution et de production Piano. Son premier long métrage Halley (2013), qui illustre le récit dérangeant d’un gardien de nuit dont le corps est en décomposition, marque les esprits à Sundance. Quatre ans plus tard, il remporte le prix du meilleur scénario dans ce même festival avec Time Share, son second long métrage.

S'inscrire à la newsletter