Skip links

Under the Silver Lake

Under the Silver Lake

David Robert Mitchell

Surrealistic Neo-Noir

United States, 139', vo ENG, sub DEU/FRA, 16 Year

Cast: Riley Keough, Sydney Sweeney, Andrew Garfield

The film
Unemployed and in his thirties, Sam is just another citizen of Los Angeles, dreaming of the day he becomes famous. He is about to finally make it to home base with his stunning and mysterious neighbour when she vanishes, leaving strange symbols behind her. Sam’s obsessive quest through the City of Angels begins, soon leading him to discover its surrealistic arcana full of murders and conspiracies. What if our world were governed by a secret elite that communicates through codes and subliminal messages?

He already reinvented the slasher genre, now David Robert Mitchell is shaking all of Hollywood to its core. Sam, a spaced-out version of Philip Marlowe, leads an investigation that turns the film into a pop, sibylline crime thriller that feels like walking through a referential maze on acid. A burlesque, violent hare and hounds game that ends up being the missing link between Alfred Hitchcock, David Lynch, and Richard Kelly. Fascinating!

The director
David Robert Mitchell comes from Michigan. After getting his film degree at the Florida State University, he goes to Los Angeles and works as an editor before making Virgin, his first short film. In 2010, he masterfully probes the American youth with his first feature, The Myth of the American Sleepover. Four years later, he makes a splash with the horror phenomenon It Follows, which won two awards at the NIFFF 2014. Today, he is back with a haunting exploration set in the world of Hollywood cinephilia.

Skip links

Under the Silver Lake

Under the Silver Lake

David Robert Mitchell

Surrealistic Neo-Noir

United States, 139', vo ENG, sub DEU/FRA, 16 ans

Cast: Riley Keough, Sydney Sweeney, Andrew Garfield

Le film
Sam, un trentenaire au chômage, habitante à Los Angeles et rêve comme beaucoup d’autres de célébrité. Alors qu’il était sur le point de conclure avec sa splendide et mystérieuse voisine, celle-ci se volatilise, laissant derrière elle d’étranges symboles. Le jeune homme se lance alors dans une quête obsessionnelle à travers la Cité des Anges. Rapidement, il découvre les coulisses surréalistes d’une ville rongée par le crime et la corruption. Et si notre monde était régi par une élite secrète communiquant par codes et autres messages subliminaux ?

Après avoir révolutionné le slasher avec It Follows, David Robert Mitchell provoque un séisme sur la planète hollywoodienne. L’enquête ésotérique de Sam, sorte de Philip Marlowe perché, nous emmène dans un polar pop et sibyllin en forme de labyrinthe référentiel sous acide. Un jeu de piste burlesque et violent qui apparaît comme le chaînon manquant entre Alfred Hitchcock, David Lynch et Richard Kelly. En un mot : fascinant !

Le réalisateur
David Robert Mitchell est originaire du Michigan. Diplômé en cinéma à la Florida State University, il part à Los Angeles où il travaille comme monteur avant de réaliser Virgin, son premier court métrage. En 2010, il sonde la jeunesse américaine avec une infinie justesse dans son premier long, The Myth of the American Sleepover. Quatre ans plus tard, il crée la sensation avec l’uppercut horrifique It Follows, primé à deux reprises au NIFFF 2014. Aujourd’hui, il revient avec une plongée obsédante dans l’univers cinéphile hollywoodien.

S'inscrire à la newsletter