Skip links

MUSIC@NIFFF 2020

DANCE THE NIFFF WAY!

From July 3rd to July 11th, the NIFFF will offer an exciting music programme composed of live DJ sets, thematic podcasts, and immersive transmedia experiences.
Broadcasted daily in NIFFF TV (from 9 p.m)

Live at the weekends: Set de Table from Psycho Weazel, a dub-centred but eclectic selection from OR7, a showdown between the musical visions of Sunday Morning Ballet Class and Bowmore, a presentation of immersive project LEAU from Georg Bleikolm, and the synth travels of Ritaline, musical alter ego of Supermafia.

During the week: podcasts in the form of mixtapes with 80s Swiss electronic music compilations: Intenta, offbeat selections from Fischer, futuristic choices from Schnautzi, as well as Vietnamese music from Park:ING and Ostin Fam, and Teruu’s Japanese selection.

FRIDAY, JULY 3RD

Set de Table

Psycho Weazel (Argent Sale | CH) – DJ set

Psycho Weazel was born when two boys instantly fell in love with each other’s musical sensibilities. Through hard work and tenacity, they made a name for themselves from their lakeside studio in Neuchâtel with the support of worldwide labels. Their live events and DJ sets are an intoxicating musical experience, broadcast in the best venues from the region and elsewhere.

Facebook | Instagram

SATURDAY, JULY 4TH

Particles in Motion

OR7 (Décalé, Feng Shit | CH) – DJ set

Matthias Orsett aka OR7 splits his time between Swiss mountains and Swiss studio basements. Whether it be in LYL with Feng Shit, in DIA with Aqua Poney Drift Club, or as his own band Décalé, Matthias creates borderless sets, although he is a bit obsessed with dub sounds.

 FacebookInstagram

SUNDAY, JULY 5TH

We Grew Up Here – Mixtape

park:ING (Savage, The Observatory | VN) x Ostin Fam (Brooklyn Filmmakers Collective | VN)

Park Lee (Giang Bac) is Korean Vietnamese and grew up in Ho Chi Minh City. He is the brain behind the queer evenings of GenderFunk, and a regular at underground clubs Savage (Hanoi) and The Observatory (Ho Chi Minh City). He is known for creating soundscapes that reflect his emotions.

Ostin Fam (Phạm Quốc Dũng) is an indie filmmaker from Hanoi and a member of the Brooklyn Filmmakers Collective. The concept of cultural fluidity – the way we reconcile our identities between countries with different customs – is at the centre of his work.

We Grew Up Here is the result of their experiences, influences, and the way they see the world.

MONDAY, JULY 6TH

INTENTA – Mixtape

Experimental & Electronic Music from Switzerland 1981-93

Intenta is a compilation focused on experimental electronic music from Switzerland made between 1981 and 1993. It contains 17 tracks produced by artists all over the country, from Geneva, Lausanne, Neuchâtel, Berne, Basel, St. Gallen, Zurich, and Aarau. Discover two hours of music mixed by its creators!

TUESDAY, JULY 7TH

Soundz of the Future– Mixtape

Schnautzi (Argent Sale | FR)

Schnautzi – CEO of the Argent Sale label and host of La Sélection on Nova Lyon – has a nasty habit of piling up disks in his overheated shack. He is known for his boldly eclectic DJ sets. The programme is a feline selection of electronic music, synth coupé-décalé, sweating dancehall, and urban savanna groove.

WEDNESDAY, JULY 8TH

Will AI Save the Planet, Spirituality & Justice? – Mixtape

Fischer (Décalé, Feng Shit | FR)

Head of the Décalé label, Fischer fits right in with the weird and offbeat. His passion for experimental music means he uses a wide variety of styles that are glued together through a consistent framework: his love for flowers and the unusual.

Facebook | Instagram

THURSDAY, JULY 9TH

Healing from Japan – Mixtape

Teruu (Mogra Radio | JPN)

Teruu fell in love with dance music in the 2000s. His dynamic disco sets include house, afro and obscure oddities. Programmer for the Zipang festival (Vietnam & Japan) and the WAM (Ho Chi Minh City), he recently launched Mogra Radio, an online channel that promotes Asian DJs and producers.

FRIDAY, JULY 10TH

Révolutions

Sunday Morning Ballet Class (Creaked Records | CH) x Bowmore (Couleur 3 | CH) – DJ set

At night, Geneva-based artist Bowmore dons her DJ suit to blast meticulously selected sets composed of unearthed new beat tracks and newfound masterpieces.

Neuchâtel artist Sunday Morning Ballet Class has been refining an accessible selection for years, from dark disco and electronica to new wave. This is your chance to try out your most insane dance moves.

Both artists are hellbent on surprising you during this live event. This is going to be something special.

SATURDAY, JULY 11TH

LEAU

KnoR (RAVE U R | CH) et Encor Studio (CH) – Live
Ritaline (Supermafia | CH) – DJ set

Georg Bleikolm aka KnoR presents, in collaboration with Encor Studio, the first episode of his new transmedia cycle LEAU, a musical and immersive sci-fi fable that stimulates unique reflections related to the transition from anthropocentrism to the Anthropocene.

This preview will take place between Neuchâtel and Zurich. On July 9th and 10th, KnoR will be in-residence with the Neuchâtel-based Encor Studio in Zurich (at the KOSMOS). On Saturday, July 11th, KnoR will present a complete version of his concept album LEAU on NIFFF TV.

Ritaline, the musical alter-ego of visual artists collective Supermafia, will bring the festival to a close with an indie dance, nu disco, and Italian synth pop compilation.

Skip links

MUSIC@NIFFF 2020

Du 3 au 11 juillet, le NIFFF vous propose une programmation musicale mêlant DJ sets en livestream, podcasts exigeants et immersion transmedia.
Diffusé chaque jour dans l’émission NIFFF TV (dès 21h)

Au programme en live les weekends: les local heroes de Psycho Weazel, le sélection éclectique à tendance dub de OR7, une confrontation des visions musicales de Sunday Morning Ballet Class et de Bowmore, la présentation du projet immersif LEAU de Georg Bleikolm et les pérégrinations synthétiques de Ritaline, alter ego musical de la Supermafia.

En semaine, des podcasts sous forme de mixtapes présenteront la compilation de musique électronique suisse des années huitante Intenta, les sélections décalées de Fischer et futuristes de Schnautzi et les visions du monde vietnamienne de Park:ING et Ostin Fam et japonaise de Teruu.

VENDREDI 3 JUILLET

Set de Table

Psycho Weazel (Argent Sale | CH) – DJ set

L’histoire des Psycho Weazel, c’est celle d’un coup de foudre musical entre deux garçons sensibles. A force d’opiniâtreté et de travail, ils parviennent à rayonner depuis leur studio niché au bord du lac de Neuchâtel avec des productions parues sur des labels des quatre coins de la planète et en partageant, en live ou dj set, une musique enivrante dans les meilleures salles de la région et d’ailleurs.

Facebook | Instagram

Podcast

SAMEDI 4 JUILLET

Particles in Motion

OR7 (Décalé, Feng Shit | CH) – DJ set

Matthias Orsett aka OR7 oscille entre montagnes et sous-sols suisses. Tantôt sur LYL avec Feng Shit, sur DIA avec Aqua Poney Drift Club et son propre label Décalé, Matthias n’a pas de limite dans sa sélection malgré une légère addiction aux sonorités dub.

 FacebookInstagram

DIMANCHE 5 JUILLET

We Grew Up Here – Mixtape

park:ING (Savage, The Observatory | VN) x Ostin Fam (Brooklyn Filmmakers Collective | VN)

Park Lee (Giang Bac) est un métis coréen vietnamien qui a grandi à Ho Chi Minh City. Artisan des soirées queer GenderFunk et résident auprès des clubs underground Savage (Hanoi) et The Observatory (Ho Chi Minh City), il apprécie construire des paysages sonores qui reflètent ses émotions.

Ostin Fam (Phạm Quốc Dũng) est cinéaste indépendant, originaire de Hanoi et membre du Brooklyn Filmmakers Collective. La notion de fluidité culturelle – comment nous réconcilions nos identités dans des pays différents avec des coutumes différentes – est un point central de son travail.

We Grew Up Here représente leurs expériences, leurs influences et leur vision du monde.

Podcast

LUNDI 6 JUILLET

INTENTA – Mixtape

Experimental & Electronic Music from Switzerland 1981-93

Intenta est une compilation qui met en lumière la musique expérimentale et électronique Suisse composée entre 1981 et 1993. Elle rassemble 17 morceaux produits par des artistes des quatre coins du pays dont Genève, Lausanne, Neuchâtel, Berne, Bâle, St. Gall, Zurich et Aarau. Le NIFFF vous propose deux heures de découverte mixée par ses compilateurs.

MARDI 7 JUILLET

Soundz of the Future – Mixtape

Schnautzi (Argent Sale | FR)

Schnautzi – patron du label Argent Sale et animateur de l’émission La Sélection sur Nova Lyon – a la fâcheuse tendance à empiler les disques dans sa cahute surchauffée. Il est réputé pour ses dj sets insolents d’éclectisme. Au programme: sélection féline entre musique électronique, coupé décalé synthétique, dancehall suant et groove de savane urbaine.

Podcast

MERCREDI 8 JUILLET

Will AI Save the Planet, Spirituality & Justice? – Mixtape

Fischer (Décalé, Feng Shit | FR)

Boss du label Décalé, Fischer est un un oiseau dans une forêt de nuages roses. Sa passion pour la musique expérimentale l’entraîne dans une large étendue de styles avec toujours une trame de fond: son amour du weird et des fleurs.

Facebook | Instagram

Podcast

JEUDI 9 JUILLET

Healing from Japan – Mixtape

Teruu (Mogra Radio | JPN)

Teruu est tombé sous le charme de la dance music dans le courant des années 2000. Ses sets énergiques et disco sont alimentés par la house, l’afro et les raretés obscures. Programmateur du festival Zipang (Vietnam & Japon) et du WAM (Ho Chi Minh City), il a récemment lancé Mogra Radio, canal online visant à promouvoir DJs et producteurs asiatiques.

Podcast

VENDREDI 10 JUILLET

Révolutions

Sunday Morning Ballet Class (Creaked Records | CH) x Bowmore (Couleur 3 | CH) – DJ set

La genevoise Bowmore exerce la nuit comme DJ aux sélections pointues, mêlant morceaux de new beat dépoussiérés et découvertes toutes fraîches.

La neuchâteloise Sunday Morning Ballet Class affine depuis plusieurs années une sélection étonnamment chaleureuse, oscillant entre dark disco et electronica avec des sonorités new wave, propice à des danses hasardeuses.

Les deux acolytes sont farouchement décidées à mettre en place quelques surprises pour cette soirée diffusée en direct, qui se doit d’être spéciale.

SAMEDI 11 JUILLET

LEAU

KnoR (RAVE U R | CH) et Encor Studio (CH) – Live
Ritaline (Supermafia | CH) – DJ set

Pour clôturer son évènement #HORSSERIE en ligne, le NIFFF investit la Case à Chocs et invite le public à s’immerger dans le récit musical transmedia LEAU de Georg Bleikolm aka KnoR, en collaboration avec les neuchâtelois de Encor Studio aux visuels.

Pour ce projet, Georg Bleikolm ose une approche musicale expérimentale entre trap, électro et chanson française qu’il nous propose de découvrir sous la forme d’une formule à trois, accompagné des musiciens Christian Fischer et Maximiliano Q. Santander. Le trio balance un electro-trap électroacoustique vigoureux et spatial qui vient souligner la dramaturgie et la répartie des textes de l’oeuvre.

Les 9 et 10 juillet, KnoR sera en résidence de création avec Encor Studio au KOSMOS de Zürich. Le public pourra accéder à l’installation de façon décentralisée et immersive depuis Londres, Séoul, Neuchâtel ou Zürich en se connectant sur https://www.youtube.com/raveurlab (idéalement en étant équipé d’un casque VR pour téléphone mobile).

Le samedi 11 juillet, KnoR présentera une version complète de l’album concept LEAU sur #NIFFFTV, qui sera projetée à la Case-à-chocs.

Ritaline – avatar musical de Encor Studio – clôturera le festival avec un DJ set IRL mêlant indie dance, nu disco et italian synth pop.