Skip links

< International Competition

Bacurau

Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles

Revolutionnary Sci-Fi

Brazil, France, 2019, 132'

pt/en sub fr/en, 16a

9.7, Arcades, 22:15

12.7, Arcades, 19:30

The movie

Under pressure from a corrupt politician, the inhabitants of a small village start to think a greater menace threatens them. A powerful, disturbing futuristic western.

In the near future, a small community of the Brazilian hinterland mourns the loss of their matriarch Carmelita. A few days later, people notice that their village, named Bacurau, has vanished from all the maps. Things go from bad to worse when mobile phones stop working, bodies start piling up on the roadsides, and a strange unidentified flying object starts observing the locals... But the villagers are not exactly of the passive type, and will fight back no matter what.

A winner of the last Cannes Film Festival, Bacurau ambitiously combines anthropological realism, dreamlike haze, and a particularly bloody version of the crime thriller. The gorgeous CinemaScope cinematography and the apocalyptic atmosphere make the film look like the mutant child of John Carpenter and Sergio Leone, and explores the reality of Brazil’s outcasts. Existing on the edges of sci-fi, the western and the techno-fable, Bacurau is a cutting critique of modern imperialism and of the current political situation.


Director

Kleber Mendonça Filho (1968) and Juliano Dornelles (1980) both hail from Recife. The former, who used to work as a critic, made Neighboring Sounds (2012) and Aquarius (2016), two striking studies of power, class and race. The latter has been working as a production designer since the early 2000s. After several collaborations, they directed Bacurau together, a dystopia that fully embraces its genre roots.

World Sales :

SBS International

cast :

Sonia Braga, Udo Kier, Bárbara Colen, Thomas Aquino, Silvero Pereira, Thardelly Lima, Rubens Santos, Wilson Rabelo, Carlos Francisco, Luciana Souza, Karine Teles, Antonio Saboia

Crew :
  • Music : Mateus Alves, Tomaz Alves Souza
  • Cinematographer : Pedro Sotero
  • Editor : Eduardo Serrano
?>

Skip links

< International Competition

Bacurau

Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles

Revolutionnary Sci-Fi

Brazil, France, 2019, 132'

pt/en sub fr/en, 16a

9.7, Arcades, 22:15

12.7, Arcades, 19:30

Le film

Tandis qu'ils subissent la pression d'un politicien véreux, les habitants d'un petit village soupçonnent qu'une plus grande menace les guette. Un western futuriste aussi puissant que déroutant.

Dans un futur proche, une petite communauté de l’arrière-pays brésilien pleure la mort de leur matriarche Carmelita. Quelques jours plus tard, des villageois remarquent que leur chère bourgade, Bacurau, n'apparaît plus sur aucune carte. Les choses continuent à empirer : les portables cessent de fonctionner et des corps se mettent à se multiplier au bord des routes, tandis qu’un étrange objet volant non-identifié semble observer les villageois... Mais cette menace externe se verra confrontée à des habitants bien décidés à ne pas se laisser faire.

Primé lors du dernier Festival de Cannes, Bacurau jongle avec ambition entre réalisme anthropologique, onirisme fiévreux et une version particulièrement sanguinolente des codes du thriller. La sublime photographie en CinemaScope ainsi que l’atmosphère apocalyptique ne sont pas sans faire penser à l’enfant maudit de John Carpenter et de Sergio Leone, ancrés dans les réalités des plus démunis du Brésil. En flirtant avec la science-fiction, le western et la techno-fable, Bacurau propose une critique virulente de l’impérialisme moderne et de la situation politique actuelle.


Réalisateur/trice

Kleber Mendonça Filho (1968) et Juliano Dornelles (1980) sont tous deux originaires de Recife. Le premier, ancien critique, réalise Les Bruits de Recife (2012) et Aquarius (2016), deux études perçantes des rapports de pouvoir, de classe et de race ; le deuxième œuvre comme chef décorateur depuis les débuts des années 2000. Après plusieurs collaborations, ils coréalisent Bacurau, une fresque dystopique.

World Sales :

SBS International

cast :

Sonia Braga, Udo Kier, Bárbara Colen, Thomas Aquino, Silvero Pereira, Thardelly Lima, Rubens Santos, Wilson Rabelo, Carlos Francisco, Luciana Souza, Karine Teles, Antonio Saboia

Crew :
  • Music : Mateus Alves, Tomaz Alves Souza
  • Cinematographer : Pedro Sotero
  • Editor : Eduardo Serrano