Skip links

< International Competition

Come to Daddy

Ant Timpson

Explosive Family Issues

New Zealand, Canada, Ireland, United States, 2019, 94'

en sub fr, 16a

6.7, Arcades, 22:15

11.7, Arcades, 19:45

The movie

A hip DJ accepts to visit his father who lives in a villa by the ocean. The reunion will turn sour sooner than expected... Trust us, you’ll be thinking your family dinners aren’t that bad after all!

Abandoned by his father as a child, Norval is now a thirty-something hipster who feels underappreciated. Wishing to find value in the eyes of his father, he decides to meet up with him, hoping to impress him with his accomplishments as a DJ. Unfortunately, the old man still doesn’t have an ounce of fatherhood in his body. Soon, the reunion takes an unexpected turn when Norval finds himself not only fighting for his pride, but for his life.

Come to Daddy is a claustrophobic thriller set in an isolated house on the Pacific Coast, which continuously defies expectations by mixing horror and black humour in this father-son confrontation. With a sense of humour that’s both cruel and engaging, the film invokes a continually tangible feeling of uneasiness and tension, and frequently surprises the audience. This portray of family ties, propelled by an amazingly eccentric Elijah Wood, is as cringy as it is bloody.


Director

Born in 1966, Ant Timpson funded the 48Hours film challenge in 2003, a short film festival that helped several New Zealand filmmakers to get their first works shown. He then produced the best genre fare in his country, including gems such as Housebound (winner of the NIFFF 2014), Turbo KidDeathgasmThe Greasy Strangler, as well as the anthology films ABCs of Death et The Field Guide to Evil. With Come to Daddy, Ant Timpson takes the director’s seat and strengthens his position as defender of an unbridled, absurdist genre cinema.

World Sales :

Wtfilms

cast :

Elijah Wood, Stephen McHattie, Garfield Wilson, Madeleine Sami, Martin Donovan, Michael Smiley, Simon Chin, Ona Grauer, Ryan Beil

Crew :
  • Music : Karl Steven
  • Cinematographer : Daniel Katz
  • Editor : Dan Kircher

Skip links

< International Competition

Come to Daddy

Ant Timpson

Explosive Family Issues

New Zealand, Canada, Ireland, United States, 2019, 94'

en sub fr, 16a

6.7, Arcades, 22:15

11.7, Arcades, 19:45

Le film

Un DJ branché accepte de rendre visite à son père, installé dans une villa au bord de l'océan. Mais les retrouvailles ne tardent pas à dégénérer... De quoi revoir vos repas de famille à la hausse !

Abandonné par son père lorsqu’il était enfant, Norval est aujourd’hui un hipster trentenaire en mal de reconnaissance. Espérant en trouver auprès de son géniteur, il décide de renouer avec ce dernier dont il va à la rencontre, bien décidé à l’impressionner avec sa carrière de DJ. Malheureusement pour Norval, le vieil homme a toujours aussi peu de fibre paternelle. Bien vite, les retrouvailles prennent un tournant inattendu, et ce n’est plus seulement l’ego de Norval qui se voit menacé, mais sa propre vie.

Huis clos dans une maison isolée au bord du Pacifique, Come to Daddy désamorce les attentes en infusant horreur et humour noir dans sa confrontation père-fils. Pourvu d’un comique aussi cruel que jouissif, le film parvient à cultiver un malaise et une tension constamment palpables, prenant régulièrement son public à revers. Une peinture des liens familiaux aussi grinçante que sanglante, portée par un Elijah Wood délicieusement excentrique.


Réalisateur/trice

Né en 1966, Ant Timpson fonde en 2003 le 48Hours film challenge, festival de courts-métrages qui voit le début de plusieurs cinéastes néo-zélandais. Le Kiwi se distingue ensuite en produisant la fine fleur du cinéma de genre du pays, avec des perles telles que Housebound (vainqueur du NIFFF 2014), Turbo Kid, Deathgasm, The Greasy Strangler, ainsi que les anthologies ABCs of Death et The Field Guide to Evil. Avec Come to Daddy, Ant Timpson passe derrière la caméra et confirme son goût pour le genre décomplexé et pour l'humour absurde.

World Sales :

Wtfilms

cast :

Elijah Wood, Stephen McHattie, Garfield Wilson, Madeleine Sami, Martin Donovan, Michael Smiley, Simon Chin, Ona Grauer, Ryan Beil

Crew :
  • Music : Karl Steven
  • Cinematographer : Daniel Katz
  • Editor : Dan Kircher