Skip links

< International Competition

Extra Ordinary

Enda Loughman, Mike Ahern

Paranormal Stupidities

Ireland, Belgium, 2019, 94'

en sub fr, 14a

6.7, Arcades, 17:00

13.7, Arcades, 15:15

The movie

In this hilarious film, a driving instructor reconnects with her supernatural powers and her tortured past to prevent a failed Rockstar from making a deal with the devil.

Rose, a charming and compassionate driving instructor, refuses to use her supernatural powers that allow her to speak with the dead. She makes an exception for Martin, an equally charming man who recently lost his wife and asks her to save his daughter. The teenage girl is the target of a satanic ritual ordered by a fallen rock star who has made a deal with the devil to regain their fame. To succeed, Rose will need to overcome the fear of her own powers…

Fallen stars, possessed trash cans and vengeful evil forces – could Extra Ordinarybe the craziest film in the International Competition? Madly in love with the world they created, the directors seem to be having a great time with their characters and their story, which all allow for tons of hilarious gags and situations. With its compelling performances and a formidable sense of pace, Extra Ordinaryshould have no trouble becoming your new cult movie.


Director

Mostly known as their collective name D.A.D.D.Y., Mike Ahern and Enda Loughman have been working together for over 10 years. After projects in animation and graphic design, they started making short films like Mr. Foley (2009) and The Hatch (2011), TV commercials, and music videos for bands such as Bloc Party, Jape and Super Furry Animals. In 2008, they are granted the “Best New Directors” award at the UK Music Video Awards. Extra Ordinary is their first feature film.

World Sales :

Epic Pictures Group

cast :

Will Forte, Maeve Higgins, Claudia O'Doherty, Barry Ward, Risteárd Cooper, Jamie Beamish, Terri Chandler

Crew :
  • Music : George Brennan
  • Cinematographer : James Mather
  • Editor : Gavin Buckley

Skip links

< International Competition

Extra Ordinary

Enda Loughman, Mike Ahern

Paranormal Stupidities

Ireland, Belgium, 2019, 94'

en sub fr, 14a

6.7, Arcades, 17:00

13.7, Arcades, 15:15

Le film

Une monitrice d’auto-école va renouer avec ses dons surnaturels et son passé tortueux pour empêcher une rock star ratée de concrétiser un pacte avec le diable. Totalement hilarant !

Rose, une monitrice de conduite charmante et solitaire, refuse d'utiliser ses capacités surnaturelles qui lui permettent de communiquer avec les esprits. Elle va toutefois faire une exception lorsque Martin, un homme tout aussi charmant que veuf, lui demande de sauver sa fille ; la pauvre adolescente est la cible d’un rituel satanique ordonné par une rock star déchue ayant conclu un pacte avec le diable pour retrouver sa grandeur ! Rose va alors surmonter sa peur de ses dons extraordinaires…

Avec sa célébrité déchue, ses poubelles possédées et ses forces surnaturelles revanchardes, Extra Ordinary s'imposerait-il comme l'entrée la plus déjantée de la compétition internationale ? Tout en ayant beaucoup de tendresse pour leur univers, les deux réalisateurs s'amusent autant avec leurs personnages qu'avec leur histoire, qui offrent tous deux un réservoir de situations et de gags hilarants. Servis par une brochette d'acteurs en grande forme et un sens du rythme à l'efficacité redoutable, Extra Ordinary a tout pour devenir votre nouveau film culte.


Réalisateur/trice

Souvent sous leur nom d'artiste « D.A.D.D.Y. », Mike Ahern et Enda Loughman collaborent depuis plus de dix ans. Après l’animation et le graphisme, ils signent des courts-métrages (Mr. Foley, 2009 et The Hatch, 2011) et des publicités télévisées, ainsi que des clips musicaux pour des groupes tels que Bloc Party, Jape et Super Furry Animals. Ils obtiennent en 2008 le prix des « meilleurs nouveaux réalisateurs » aux UK Music Video Awards. Extra Ordinary est leur premier long-métrage.

World Sales :

Epic Pictures Group

cast :

Will Forte, Maeve Higgins, Claudia O'Doherty, Barry Ward, Risteárd Cooper, Jamie Beamish, Terri Chandler

Crew :
  • Music : George Brennan
  • Cinematographer : James Mather
  • Editor : Gavin Buckley