Skip links

< International Competition

His Master's Voice

György Pálfi

Mysterious Sci-Fi Thriller

Hungary, Canada, 2018, 108'

en/hu sub en/fr, 14a

9.7, Passage 1, 16:45

12.7, Arcades, 14:00

The movie

Peter’s dad vanished without a trace after a top-secret mission for the US government. The quest for his father will end up being a lot more than that...

In the 1970s, Peter’s dad left Hungary for a trip to the United States and has shown no sign of life ever since. Today, 30-year-old Peter still lives in Hungary, where he works as a journalist. While watching a documentary about a mysterious incident, he thinks he recognises the father he has never known. He takes off for the USA, unable to live with the uncertainty. In his quest, he will cross path with the American government and discover that alien life might actually exist...

With His Master’s Voice, iconoclast György Pálfi adapts Stanislaw Lem’s novel of the same name. The Polish author’s work has also inspired Andreï Tarkovski (Solaris, 1972) and Ari Folman (The Congress, 2013). As usual, the Hungarian filmmaker mixed media and images: unbounded, Pálfi created a hybrid and ground-breaking film that cannot be defined by a single tone or genre. Prepare to rethink the boundaries between fantasy and reality.


Director

While his first film Hukkle was noticed in 2002, György Pálfi created controversy in 2006 with Taxidermia, an acerbic anthology film that screened in Cannes. Six years later, he directed Final Cut – Ladies and Gentlemen, a surprising love story made out of more than 500 movie clips. In 2014, Free Fall came as a confirmation of the filmmaker’s taste for eclecticism and experimentation. His Mater’s Voice, an ambitious international coproduction, is his sixth feature film.

Festival Contact :

Hungarian National Film Fund / HNFF World Sales

cast :

Csaba Polgár, Eric Peterson, Diána Kiss

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : Gergely Pohárnok
  • Editor : Réka Lemhényi
  • Music : Ábris Gryllus

Skip links

< International Competition

His Master's Voice

György Pálfi

Mysterious Sci-Fi Thriller

Hungary, Canada, 2018, 108'

en/hu sub en/fr, 14a

9.7, Passage 1, 16:45

12.7, Arcades, 14:00

Le film

Depuis cette mission top secrète du gouvernement américain, le père de Peter n'a plus laissé de traces. En partant à sa recherche, ce dernier ne savait pas dans quoi il s'embarquait...

Dans les années 1970, le père de Péter quitte la Hongrie pour un voyage aux États-Unis. Depuis, il n'a plus donné le moindre signe de vie. Aujourd’hui, Péter habite toujours en Hongrie, il a trente ans et il est devenu journaliste. Dans un documentaire relatant un mystérieux incident, il croit reconnaître le père qu’il n’a jamais connu. Afin d’en avoir le cœur net, Péter décide de partir aux États-Unis pour le retrouver. Une quête qui le mêlera à une mission du gouvernement américain et à une possible vie extraterrestre...

Avec His Master’s Voice, l'iconoclaste György Pálfi adapte le roman homonyme de Stanislaw Lem, auteur polonais qui avait déjà inspiré Andreï Tarkovski (Solaris, 1972) et Ari Folman (The Congress, 2013). Comme à son habitude, le cinéaste hongrois mélange les supports et les types d’images : semblant affranchi de toute contrainte, il propose un film à la fois hybride et époustouflant qui navigue par-delà les tons et les genres, questionnant constamment les limites entre le fantasme et la réalité.


Réalisateur/trice

Déjà remarqué en 2002 avec Hukkle, son premier film, György Pálfi crée la controverse en 2006 avec Taxidermia, film à sketchs incendiaire projeté au Festival de Cannes. Six ans plus tard, il réalise Final Cut – Ladies and Gentlemen, une étonnante histoire d’amour sous la forme d'une compilation combinant plus de 500 extraits de films. En 2014, Free Fall confirme le goût du cinéaste hongrois pour l’éclectisme et l’expérimentation. Ambitieuse coproduction internationale, His Master’s Voice est son sixième long-métrage.

Festival Contact :

Hungarian National Film Fund / HNFF World Sales

cast :

Csaba Polgár, Eric Peterson, Diána Kiss

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : Gergely Pohárnok
  • Editor : Réka Lemhényi
  • Music : Ábris Gryllus