Skip links

< International Competition

Jesus Shows You the Way to the Highway

Miguel Llansó

The Matrix On Acid

Ethiopia, Spain, Estonia, 2019, 81'

en sub fr, 14a

7.7, Arcades, 20:00

11.7, Arcades, 14:45

The movie

Two special agents are tasked with protecting the computer programme that runs a future metropolis. However, the ‘Soviet Union’ virus soon starts wreaking havoc. A delirious ride!

The year is 2035. Tallinn is a megalopolis controlled by an omniscient computer called Psychobook. When “Soviet Union”, a dangerous virus, attacks the AI, agents Gagano and Palmer Eldritch are tasked with the perilous mission of destroying it. But following an accident, Gagano is sent to another dimension where he unwillingly goes along with an initiation quest alongside a man who looks a hell of a lot like Jesus Christ.

Shot in Estonia, Spain and Ethiopia, Jesus Shows You the Way to the Highway is a film you could describe as out of this world on every level. This delirious tale of afrofuturism has it all: the worlds of Philip K. Dick, the 1960s Batman TV series, pro-drugs cults, secret agents hiding behind paper masks, and a giant Stalin head that shoots lasers with its eyes. The film will have its world premiere at the NIFFF 2019 – it’s a shot of pure creativity that constantly reinvents itself to surprise the audience.


Director

Originally from Spain, Miguel Llansó regularly stays in Ethiopia, where he shoots most of his work. His short films quickly gained a reputation in the festival circuit, especially Chigger Ale, about an Ethiopian clone of Adolf Hitler which was first shown in Locarno in 2013, before being programmed all over the world. Two years later, Miguel Llansó made his feature debut with the fascinating Crumbs, an Ethiopia-set sci-fi film that won an award at the NIFFF 2015.

writers :

Miguel Llansó

cast :

Daniel Tadesse, Agustín Mateo, Guillermo Llansó

Crew :
  • Music : Atomizador
  • Editor : Velasco Broca
  • Cinematographer : Israel Seoane

Skip links

< International Competition

Jesus Shows You the Way to the Highway

Miguel Llansó

The Matrix On Acid

Ethiopia, Spain, Estonia, 2019, 81'

en sub fr, 14a

7.7, Arcades, 20:00

11.7, Arcades, 14:45

Le film

Deux agents spéciaux sont chargés de protéger le programme informatique gérant une mégalopole futuriste. Mais le virus “Soviet Union” fait bientôt tout partir en cacahuète. Délirant !

Nous sommes en 2035 : Tallinn est une mégalopole contrôlée par un ordinateur omniscient appelé Psychobook. Lorsque le dangereux virus « Union Soviétique » menace l’intelligence artificielle, les agents Gagano et Palmer Eldritch s’engagent dans une périlleuse mission pour le détruire. Mais suite à un accident, Gagano est envoyé dans une dimension parallèle et se retrouve embarqué malgré lui dans une quête initiatique aux côtés d’un homme ressemblant étrangement à Jésus Christ.

Tourné entre l’Estonie, l’Espagne et l’Ethiopie, Jesus Shows You the Way to the Highway est un film improbable à tous les niveaux. Dans ce délire afro-futuriste, l’univers de Philip K. Dick rencontre la série Batman des années 1960, tandis que se croisent des sectes pro-drogue, des agents secrets dissimulés sous des masques en papier, ainsi qu'une tête géante de Staline qui tire des rayons laser avec les yeux. Présenté en première mondiale au NIFFF 2019, ce pur délice de créativité surprend autant le spectateur qu'il ne cesse de se renouveler.


Réalisateur/trice

Originaire d’Espagne, Miguel Llansó réside régulièrement en Éthiopie où il tourne la plupart de ses films. Ses premiers courts-métrages font sensation dans les festivals, dont Chigger Ale, l’histoire d’un clone éthiopien d’Adolf Hitler, présenté au Festival de Locarno en 2013, avant de faire le tour des grands événements du cinéma. Deux ans plus tard, Miguel Llansó passe au long-métrage avec le fascinant Crumbs, un récit de SF tourné en Ethiopie et primé au NIFFF 2015.

writers :

Miguel Llansó

cast :

Daniel Tadesse, Agustín Mateo, Guillermo Llansó

Crew :
  • Music : Atomizador
  • Editor : Velasco Broca
  • Cinematographer : Israel Seoane