Skip links

< International Competition

Knives and Skin

Jennifer Reeder

Fluorescent Teen Noir

United States, 2019, 111'

en sub fr, 14a

9.7, Arcades, 16:45

13.7, Arcades, 12:30

The movie

In a small US country town, the disappearance of a teenager impacts its inhabitants in a variety of ways. A dream-like, spellbinding and feminist film.

Big River, a small Midwest town. Young Carolyn Harper spends the night with her boyfriend on the outskirts of an isolated lake. They have an argument, and the woman leaves her companion. The next day, no one knows where she’s gone. The investigation that ensues will unearth the dark secrets of Carolyn’s loved ones. Things unsaid are told, and relationships are tested. Slowly, the small town is taken over by fear and suspicion...

A hybrid between Twin Peaks and HeathersKnives and Skin explores the dark side of rural America. Basked in an unsettling and hypnotic atmosphere composed of neon lighting and synth music, the story portrays the decay of a community that must contend with the disappearance of one of its members. As childhood’s end nears for every teen, their parents must redeem themselves for their past sins. An aesthetically powerful, musically mind-blowing coming-of-age movie.


Director

After becoming known in the 90s for her videos produced under the pseudonym “White Trash Girl”, Jennifer Reeder has since moved on to the study of themes related to the teenage years, the transition to adulthood and the construction of one’s identity. In 2014, her short film A Million Miles Away was nominated for the Tiger Award at the Rotterdam International Film Festival. Three years later, her first feature Signature Move was shown first at Austin’s SXSW, then at about a hundred festivals where it garnered numerous awards.

World Sales :

Wtfilms

writers :

Jennifer Reeder

cast :

Kate Arrington, Tim Hopper, Marilyn Dodds-Frank, Grace Smith, Ireon Roach

Crew :
  • Music : Nick Zinner
  • Cinematographer : Christopher Rejano
  • Editor : Mike Olenick

Skip links

< International Competition

Knives and Skin

Jennifer Reeder

Fluorescent Teen Noir

United States, 2019, 111'

en sub fr, 14a

9.7, Arcades, 16:45

13.7, Arcades, 12:30

Le film

Dans une petite ville rurale des États-Unis, la disparition d’une adolescente va avoir différentes répercussions sur ses habitants. Un film onirique, envoûtant et féministe.

Big River, petite ville du Midwest. Aux abords d’un lac isolé, la jeune Carolyn Harper passe la soirée avec son copain. Lorsqu’une dispute éclate, il s’en va et l’abandonne sur place. Le lendemain, elle a mystérieusement disparu. L’enquête qui s’ouvre alors pour la retrouver va faire remonter de sombres secrets parmi les proches de Carolyn. Tandis que les non-dits éclatent, les relations sont mises à mal. Peu à peu, la peur et la suspicion s’installent dans la bourgade...

A mi-chemin entre Twin Peaks et Heathers, Knives and Skin explore le côté obscur de l’Amérique rurale. Dans une atmosphère inquiétante et hypnotique faite d’éclairages au néon et de musiques synthétiques, on assiste à la lente déliquescence d’une communauté confrontée à la perte de l’un de ses membres. Tandis que la fin de l’innocence guette les enfants, leurs parents doivent quant à eux affronter les erreurs du passé. Un coming of age à l'esthétique marquante et à l'utilisation musicale époustouflante.


Réalisateur/trice

Remarquée à la fin des années 1990 pour ses créations vidéo produites sous l’identité de « White Trash Girl », Jennifer Reeder s’intéresse depuis ses premières œuvres aux thématiques de l’adolescence, du passage à l’âge adulte et de la construction d’identité. En 2014, son court-métrage A Million Miles Away est nommé pour le Tiger Award au Festival International du Film de Rotterdam. Trois ans plus tard, son long-métrage Signature Move est projeté au SXSW d’Austin avant de faire le tour d’une centaine de festivals, où il remporte de nombreux prix.

World Sales :

Wtfilms

writers :

Jennifer Reeder

cast :

Kate Arrington, Tim Hopper, Marilyn Dodds-Frank, Grace Smith, Ireon Roach

Crew :
  • Music : Nick Zinner
  • Cinematographer : Christopher Rejano
  • Editor : Mike Olenick