Skip links

< International Competition

Les Particules

Blaise Harrison

Metaphysical Twilight Zone

Switzerland, France, 2019, 98'

fr/en sub en/fr, 14a

8.7, Arcades, 19:45

11.7, Arcades, 17:15

The movie

Near the Franco-Swiss border, P.A. and his friends are in their last year of high school. The setting is banal, half-way between urban and country landscapes, and it looks like their formative years will end on as unremarkable a note. And yet, 100 meters below ground, the biggest and most powerful particle accelerator in the world is recreating the conditions of the Big Bang. One day, P.A. starts noticing strange phenomena and perturbations in his surroundings. Is the world starting to change?

Les Particules is built on a fascinating shift between naturalism and the sensory offset created by fantasy. With a cast mainly made up of non-professional actors, Blaise Harrison’s first fiction film understands the age of transformations with both dizzying accuracy and poetic sensibility. This tale of adolescence, slowly taken over by fantasy, will haunt the audience through its authenticity and originality.


Director

Born in 1980, Blaise Harrison is a graduate of ECAL (École cantonale d’art de Lausanne). After his studies, he directed numerous documentary films. A multi-talented person, the Franco-Swiss artist has also worked as a director of photography. He notably shot Jean-Stéphane Bron’s gorgeous L’Opéra. Originally from the Gex region, he took inspiration from his own teenage years in France to write and direct this first work of fiction.

Local Distributor :

Cineworx GmbH

cast :

Thomas Daloz, Salvatore Ferro, Léo Couilfort, Nicolas Marcant, Néa Lüders, Emma Josserand, Johana Untersinger, Valder Lärka, Liam Gras

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : Colin Lévêque
  • Editor : Gwenola Heaulme, Isabelle Manquillet
  • Music : Èlg

Skip links

< International Competition

Les Particules

Blaise Harrison

Metaphysical Twilight Zone

Switzerland, France, 2019, 98'

fr/en sub en/fr, 14a

8.7, Arcades, 19:45

11.7, Arcades, 17:15

Le film

Voisin de l’accélérateur du CERN, P.A. vit son adolescence avec toutes les interrogations et sentiments liés. La physique subatomique propulsera son expérience de l’existence par-delà le réel.

À la frontière entre la Suisse et la France, P.A. et son groupe de potes vivent leur dernière année au lycée. Un cadre quelconque, entre la ville et la campagne, pour une adolescence qui s’annonce tout aussi banale. Pourtant, à 100 mètres sous les pieds de ces jeunes, le plus grand et le plus puissant accélérateur de particules du monde est en train de recréer les conditions du Big Bang. P.A. commence alors à observer d’étranges phénomènes et des perturbations dans l’environnement. Et si le monde commençait à changer ?

Les Particules opère un fascinant glissement de l’approche naturaliste au dérèglement fantastique de tous les sens. Avec son casting composé en grande partie d’acteurs non-professionnels, la première fiction de Blaise Harrison capte avec une impressionnante précision la complexité d’un âge fait de mutations tout en la ponctuant de touches poétiques. Cette chronique adolescente, peu à peu dévorée par l'imaginaire, impacte autant pour son authenticité que pour son originalité.


Réalisateur/trice

Né en 1980, Blaise Harrison est diplômé de l’Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne. Après ses études, il se lance dans la réalisation de nombreux films documentaires. Possédant plus d’une corde à son arc, ce Franco-Suisse travaille également comme chef opérateur. On lui doit, entre autres, la magnifique photographie de L’Opéra de Jean-Stéphane Bron. Originaire du pays de Gex, il s’est inspiré des souvenirs de son adolescence en France voisine pour écrire et réaliser ce premier long-métrage de fiction.

Local Distributor :

Cineworx GmbH

cast :

Thomas Daloz, Salvatore Ferro, Léo Couilfort, Nicolas Marcant, Néa Lüders, Emma Josserand, Johana Untersinger, Valder Lärka, Liam Gras

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : Colin Lévêque
  • Editor : Gwenola Heaulme, Isabelle Manquillet
  • Music : Èlg
?>