Skip links

< International Competition

Répertoire des villes disparues

Denis Côté

Bone-Chilling Ghost Story

Canada, 2019, 97'

fr sub en, 14a

7.7, Arcades, 17:15

10.7, Arcades, 19:45

The movie

When a young man dies in a road accident, the inhabitants of isolated village Irénée-les-Neiges are shell-shocked. But an even bigger tragedy is about to befall them…

Day to day life in Irénée-les-Neiges, an isolated village of 215 inhabitants in Québec, changes forever when the young Simon Dubé dies in a car accident. His family and friends try to come to terms with his death, but no matter how much time passes, they remain inconsolable. A winter of extreme conditions settles on the agonizing community, and strange figures are seen walking in the fog on the edge of the village. A new tragedy awaits…

Shown at the last Berlinale, Ghost Town Anthologyimmerses its audience in the life of an inward-looking rural community. By making the tropes of genre films his own, Denis Côté questions our relationship with others and makes us face our demons. The unfolding tragedy slowly traps the viewer until they are completely submerged in the ice-cold landscapes of Canadian hinterland – beautifully shot on 16mm film.


Director

Born in Canada in 1973, Denis Côté started off as a journalist and movie reviewer. He made numerous short films during the 1990s. Drifting States, his first feature film, won a Léopard d’or at the 2005 Locarno Festival. Working both in fictions and documentaries, Denis Côté won several awards at various festivals, including the Silver Bear at the 2013 Berlinale for Vic and Flo Saw a BearGhost Town Anthologyis his 11th feature film.

World Sales :

Films Boutique

writers :

Laurence Olivier

producers :

Ziad Touma

cast :

Robert Naylor, Josée Deschênes, Jean-Michel Anctil, Larissa Corriveau, Diane Lavallée, Rémi Goulet, Jocelyne Zucco, Normand Carrière, Hubert Proulx, Rachel Graton

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : François Messier-Rheault
  • Editor : Nicolas Roy
?>

Skip links

< International Competition

Répertoire des villes disparues

Denis Côté

Bone-Chilling Ghost Story

Canada, 2019, 97'

fr sub en, 14a

7.7, Arcades, 17:15

10.7, Arcades, 19:45

Le film

Quand un jeune meurt dans un accident de la route, les habitants de la bourgade isolée d’Irénée-les-Neiges sont sous le choc. Mais une tragédie encore plus grande s’apprête à s’abattre sur eux…

Irénée-les-Neiges, village québécois isolé de 215 habitants, voit son quotidien bouleversé lorsque le jeune Simon Dubé meurt dans un accident de voiture. La famille et les amis du défunt tentent de faire leur deuil, mais le temps s’égrène et leur chagrin est inconsolable. Alors qu’un hiver glacial s’installe dans la région et que la petite communauté semble être à l’agonie, d’étranges silhouettes sont aperçues en train de marcher dans le brouillard aux abords du village. Une nouvelle tragédie se prépare…

Présenté lors de la dernière édition de la Berlinale, Répertoire des villes disparues propose une plongée troublante dans la vie d’une communauté rurale repliée sur elle-même. En se réappropriant les codes du cinéma de genre, Denis Côté questionne nos rapports à l’Autre et nous met face à nos fantômes. Le drame se déployant envahit peu à peu le spectateur qui se retrouve complètement immergé dans les décors frigorifiants de l'arrière-pays canadien, sublimés par la photographie et le grain du 16mm.


Réalisateur/trice

Né au Canada en 1973, Denis Côté débute comme journaliste et critique de cinéma. Il tourne de nombreux courts-métrages à la fin des années 1990. Les états nordiques, son premier long-métrage, lui a valu un Léopard d’or de la section vidéo du Locarno Festival en 2005. Réalisateur de fictions et de documentaires, Denis Côté a remporté de nombreux prix dans divers festivals, dont l’Ours d’argent de la Berlinale en 2013 pour Vic + Flo ont vu un ours. Répertoire des villes disparues est son onzième long métrage.

World Sales :

Films Boutique

writers :

Laurence Olivier

producers :

Ziad Touma

cast :

Robert Naylor, Josée Deschênes, Jean-Michel Anctil, Larissa Corriveau, Diane Lavallée, Rémi Goulet, Jocelyne Zucco, Normand Carrière, Hubert Proulx, Rachel Graton

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : François Messier-Rheault
  • Editor : Nicolas Roy