Skip links

< International Competition / Special Programs / Danes Do It Better!

Sons of Denmark

Ulaa Salim

In-Your-Face Anticipation

Denmark, 2019, 123'

da/ar sub en/fr, 16a

5.7, Arcades, 22:15

10.7, Arcades, 16:45

The movie

Denmark, 2025. As the far-right wins ground, 19-year-old Zakaria is talked into joining a terrorist cell. An astounding and realistic look into the future.

Copenhagen, 2025. Following a terrorist attack, ethnic tensions skyrocket and pave the way for the rise of the Far Right. As extremist and nationalist demagogue Martin Nordahl wins the latest elections in a landslide, young Zakaria becomes tired of the anti-Islam climate and lets himself be seduced by a group of radicals. Trained by Ali, with whom he develops and father-son relationship, Zakaria is soon given his first mission: to eliminate the newly elected politician.


Brotherhood, convictions and manipulations clash in this frighteningly realistic near-future thriller. By mixing genre tropes and relevant themes, Irakian-Danish filmmaker Ulaa Salim delivers a provocative directorial debut that is sure to make waves. With an ambitious script full of twists and turns, Sons of Denmark is a work of raw, radical political energy.


Director

Born in 1987, Ulaa Salim graduated from the National Film School of Denmark in 2017. During his studies, he directed the short film Land of our Fathers, which won awards at festivals. He joined forces with producer Daniel Mühlendorph to create the Hyanene Film studio. Financed through the New Danish Screen programme, Sons of Denmark was written, produced and directed by Salim, who will no doubt get the recognition he deserves.

Festival Contact :

Danish Film Institute

writers :

Ulaa Salim

producers :

Daniel Mühlendorph

cast :

Zaki Youssef, Mohammed Ismail Mohammed, Rasmus Bjerg

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : Eddie Klint
  • Editor : Jenna Mangulad
  • Music : Turkman Souljah
?>

Skip links

< International Competition / Special Programs / Danes Do It Better!

Sons of Denmark

Ulaa Salim

In-Your-Face Anticipation

Denmark, 2019, 123'

da/ar sub en/fr, 16a

5.7, Arcades, 22:15

10.7, Arcades, 16:45

Le film

Danemark, 2025. Tandis que l’extrême droite gagne le pays, Zakaria, 19 ans, se laisse convaincre d’intégrer une cellule extrémiste. Un thriller d’anticipation aussi réaliste qu’estomaquant.

Copenhague, 2025. À la suite d’un attentat terroriste à la bombe, les tensions ethniques du pays ont ouvert la voie à une montée de l'extrême droite. Tandis que Martin Nordahl, un démagogue nationaliste et extrémiste, remporte une écrasante victoire aux dernière votations, le jeune Zakaria, las du climat anti-islamiste qui règne, se laisse embarquer dans une organisation radicale. Formé par Ali avec qui il tisse peu à peu une relation père-fils, Zakaria reçoit bientôt sa première mission : éliminer le politicien récemment élu.


Fraternité, convictions et manipulation s’entrechoquent dans ce thriller d’anticipation effroyable de réalisme. En mêlant codes du genre et actualité brûlante, le réalisateur irako-danois Ulaa Salim signe un premier film furieusement provocateur qui ne laissera personne indifférent. En s’appuyant sur un scénario ambitieux et riche en rebondissements, Sons of Denmark délivre un puissant uppercut politique et radical.


Réalisateur/trice

Né en 1987, Ulaa Salim finit ses études à la National Film School of Denmark en 2017. Il réalise en parallèle Land of our Fathers, un court-métrage remarqué et primé en festivals. Il fonde aux côté du producteur Daniel Mühlendorph la boîte de production Hyanene Film. Financé à travers le New Danish Screen, Sons of Denmark est son premier long-métrage, qu'il a écrit, produit et réalisé – de quoi lui attirer la reconnaissance qu'il mérite.

Festival Contact :

Danish Film Institute

writers :

Ulaa Salim

producers :

Daniel Mühlendorph

cast :

Zaki Youssef, Mohammed Ismail Mohammed, Rasmus Bjerg

Crew :
  • Cinematographer : Eddie Klint
  • Editor : Jenna Mangulad
  • Music : Turkman Souljah