Skip links

< International Competition

Swallow

Carlo Mirabella-Davis

Jaws vs. Patriarchy

United States, France, 2019, 95'

en sub fr, 14a

6.7, Arcades, 14:30

11.7, Passage 1, 19:45

The movie

Hunter went from humble beginnings to the wife of a rich and powerful man. But despite this seemingly perfect façade, no one – and nothing – can stop her from swallowing dangerous objects…

At first glance, Hunter has the perfect life: she is the housewife of the ideal man, and lives in a gorgeous home. However, soon after she learns she is expecting, Hunter starts suffering from strange behavioural disorders that push her to ingest things that shouldn’t be eaten. As her taste for more and more dangerous objects grows, her husband and his family try everything they can to stop her, anxious to protect the offspring...

Part psychological thriller, part social fable, Swallow draws its strength from its blend of influences. Propelled by a breathtaking performance from Haley Bennett and directed with a rare elegance, the film consistently avoids the pitfalls of sensationalism that often come with such themes. Instead, it paints a stunning vision of the power of patriarchy and tackles the way the female body is perceived, while examining the standards imposed by gender norms. What ordeals lie beneath the pretty façade of society?


Director

After graduating from the New York Tisch Film School, Carlo Mirabella-Davis went on to make Knife Point in 2009, his first short film, shown at Sundance. Two years later, he co-directed The Swell Season, a musical documentary that premiered in Tribeca. Swallow, which he wrote and directed, is his first fiction feature film. Executive-produced by Joe Wright, the film will have its international premiere at the NIFFF, after its much-discussed world premiere in Tribeca last April.

World Sales :

Charades

writers :

Carlo Mirabella-Davis

cast :

Haley Bennett, Austin Stowell, Denis O'Hare, Elizabeth Marvel, David Rasche, Luna Lauren Velez

Crew :
  • Music : Nathan Halpern
  • Cinematographer : Katelin Arizmendi
  • Editor : Joe Murphy

Skip links

< International Competition

Swallow

Carlo Mirabella-Davis

Jaws vs. Patriarchy

United States, France, 2019, 95'

en sub fr, 14a

6.7, Arcades, 14:30

11.7, Passage 1, 19:45

Le film

D’origine modeste, Hunter est devenue la femme d’une homme riche et puissant. Malgré ce vernis de perfection domestique, elle ingère compulsivement des objets dangereux. Rien ne l’arrête…

En apparence, Hunter mène une vie idéale : femme au foyer, elle est mariée à l’homme parfait et vit dans une somptueuse maison. Mais peu après avoir appris qu'elle attendait son premier enfant, elle est touchée par d'étranges troubles du comportement alimentaire qui la poussent à ingérer des choses non comestibles. Tandis que son goût se porte sur des objets de plus en plus dangereux, son époux et sa famille tentent de stopper cette nouvelle boulimie peu commode, bien décidés à protéger leur descendance...

Entre thriller psychologique et fable sociale, Swallow situe son récit à la croisée des genres. Servi par la somptueuse performance d'Haley Bennett, mis en scène avec une rare élégance, le film évite le racolage vers lequel de telles thématiques aurait pu tendre et livre une vision estomaquante de l'emprise du patriarcat sur les femmes, tout en abordant la perception du corps féminin et les contraintes imposées par les normes de genre. Ou quand le sourire forcé se fissure et révèle les immondices de notre société.


Réalisateur/trice

Diplômé de la Tisch Film School de New York, Carlo Mirabella-Davis signe en 2009 Knife Point, un premier court-métrage qui sera projeté à Sundance. Deux ans plus tard, il coréalise The Swell Season, un documentaire musical qui aura droit à une première mondiale à Tribeca. Swallow, qu’il scénarise et réalise, est son premier long-métrage de fiction. Soutenu par Joe Wright au poste de producteur exécutif, le film est présenté en première internationale au NIFFF après son passage remarqué à Tribeca en avril dernier.

World Sales :

Charades

writers :

Carlo Mirabella-Davis

cast :

Haley Bennett, Austin Stowell, Denis O'Hare, Elizabeth Marvel, David Rasche, Luna Lauren Velez

Crew :
  • Music : Nathan Halpern
  • Cinematographer : Katelin Arizmendi
  • Editor : Joe Murphy