Skip links

< International Competition

The Hole in the Ground

Lee Cronin

Introspective Horror

Ireland, Finland, 2019, 90'

en sub fr, 16a

7.7, Arcades, 22:15

13.7, Arcades, 17:45

The movie

Running from her past, a young mother moves to the countryside with her son. But the boy’s behaviour changes drastically after they discover a mysterious hole in the forest... Spine-tingling.

Sarah is a single mother who moves into a somewhat isolated house with her young son Christopher to start a new life. One day, the boy goes wandering in the woods, where Sarah finds a giant sinkhole. Soon after, Christopher starts exhibiting odd behaviour, which leads his mother to wonder if something happened to him, or worse, if he really is who he pretends to be. Thus begins a dreaded descent into the terrifying depths of nature.

There aren’t that many films that can establish such an oppressive atmosphere with so much efficiency. Through his sense for framing, for narrative intelligence and for capturing the ominous beauty of the Irish landscape, Lee Cronin only needs a few minutes to immerse the audience in a spellbinding atmosphere. The Hole in the Ground is driven by a moving, nuanced mother/son relationship, anchored in the unpredictable world of supernatural folk horrors.


Director

Irish director and screenwriter Lee Cronin made a name for himself with his short film Ghost Train (NIFFF 2014), which won the Méliès d’Argent for best European fantastic short film. As a new voice in supernatural horror, Cronin delivers his first feature film with The Hole in the Ground, a movie that makes him one of the most important names among the new generation of Irish filmmakers. One thing is certain: European cinema will now have to contend with one more young master of horror.

Local Distributor :

Praesens-film Ag

cast :

Seána Kerslake, James Quinn Markey, Kati Outinen, James Cosmo, Simone Kirby, Steve Wall

Crew :
  • Music : Stephen McKeon
  • Cinematographer : Tom Comerford
  • Editor : Colin Campbell

Skip links

< International Competition

The Hole in the Ground

Lee Cronin

Introspective Horror

Ireland, Finland, 2019, 90'

en sub fr, 16a

7.7, Arcades, 22:15

13.7, Arcades, 17:45

Le film

Fuyant un passé sombre, une jeune mère s'installe dans la campagne avec son fils. Mais le comportement de celui-ci change après leur découverte d'un mystérieux trou dans la forêt... Glaçant.

Sarah, mère célibataire, déménage avec son jeune fils Christopher dans une maison isolée pour commencer une nouvelle vie. Un jour, celui-ci s’enfuit dans les bois. Partant à sa recherche, Sarah y découvre un immense trou avant de retrouver le garçon. Christopher fait bientôt preuve d’un comportement étrange, ce qui mène sa mère à se demander si quelque chose lui serait arrivé, ou pire, s’il s’agit vraiment de son enfant. Commence alors une plongée anxiogène au sein d’une nature terrifiante.

Rares sont les films qui parviennent à instaurer une ambiance oppressante avec une telle efficacité. Grâce à son sens du cadre, du récit efficace et à sa manière de capter la beauté inquiétante des paysages irlandais, Lee Cronin nous immerge en quelques minutes à peine dans une atmosphère saisissante. The Hole in the Ground dépeint une relation mère-fils d’une intelligente et déchirante ambiguïté tout en explorant la richesse d’un folklore païen qui recèle bien des surprises.


Réalisateur/trice

Réalisateur et scénariste, l’Irlandais Lee Cronin s’est notamment distingué avec le court-métrage Ghost Train (NIFFF 2014), vainqueur du Méliès d’Argent du meilleur court européen fantastique. Habitué à l’horreur fantastique, il signe aujourd’hui son premier long-métrage avec The Hole in the Ground et s’assure une place parmi les grands noms la nouvelle génération de cinéastes de genre irlandais. Une chose est sûre : l’horreur européen compte désormais un nouveau talent dont nous entendrons beaucoup parler.

Local Distributor :

Praesens-film Ag

cast :

Seána Kerslake, James Quinn Markey, Kati Outinen, James Cosmo, Simone Kirby, Steve Wall

Crew :
  • Music : Stephen McKeon
  • Cinematographer : Tom Comerford
  • Editor : Colin Campbell