Skip links

< International Competition

The Room

Christian Volckman

Supernatural Huis Clos

France, Belgium, Luxembourg, 2019, 100'

en sub fr, 14a

5.7, Arcades, 19:45

10.7, Arcades, 22:15

The movie

A young couple settles down in an old country house. During the renovations, they discover a hidden room and with it, unexpected resources...

Kate and Matt want to get out of stressful New York to recharge their batteries in the countryside. They’re lucky enough to find a charming house in New Hampshire and settle there, hoping they can find the calm and serenity they seek. They set out to explore their new home and discover a secret room which seems to make their wishes come true. Clothes, food, money… they can ask for anything, and it simply appears before them. One day, they wish into existence something they will regret ever asking for...

Based on a simple, promising idea, The Room brilliantly exploits its concept to its full potential. As the room itself slowly reveals its power and the two thirty-somethings must deal with the consequences of their actions, wonder makes way for terror, and the fairy tale turns into an absolute nightmare.


Director

Christian Volckman is a multi-talented artist who was first noticed in 1999 for his short film MAAZ. International fame awaited seven years later, with his feature debut Renaissance, an ambitious motion capture sci-fi story that made it into the Oscars preselection stage. After a decade spent working in various fields, notably music videos, Christian Volckman makes his return to the silver screen with the surprising The Room, which he co-wrote and directed.

World Sales :

Elle Driver

cast :

Olga Kurylenko, Kevin Janssens, Francis Chapman, Marianne Bourg

Crew :
  • Music : Raf Keunen
  • Cinematographer : Reynald Capurro
  • Editor : Sophie Fourdrinoy

Skip links

< International Competition

The Room

Christian Volckman

Supernatural Huis Clos

France, Belgium, Luxembourg, 2019, 100'

en sub fr, 14a

5.7, Arcades, 19:45

10.7, Arcades, 22:15

Le film

Un jeune couple s’installe dans une vieille maison de campagne. Alors qu’ils la retapent, ils tombent sur une pièce cachée et découvrent que celle-ci a des ressources insoupçonnées…

Kate et Matt souhaitent quitter le stress de New York pour se ressourcer à la campagne. Par chance, les deux trentenaires trouvent une charmante maison dans le New Hampshire où ils s'installent, espérant retrouver le calme et la sérénité. En explorant les recoins de l’ancienne bâtisse, Kate et Matt découvrent une pièce secrète, dont ils comprennent bien vite qu’elle a le pouvoir d’exaucer leurs vœux. Vêtements, nourriture, argent ; peu importe ce qu’ils demandent, l’objet de leur désir se matérialise devant leurs yeux. Un jour, ils se risquent à souhaiter quelque chose qu'ils vont regretter...

Partant d’une idée aussi simple que prometteuse, The Room exploite brillamment son concept et le pousse jusque dans ses ultimes retranchements. Tandis que « la pièce » révèle peu à peu son vrai pouvoir et que les deux protagonistes se voient confrontés aux conséquences de leurs actions, l’émerveillement laisse place à la peur, et le conte de fées se transforme en véritable cauchemar.


Réalisateur/trice

Révélé par son court-métrage MAAZ en 1999, l'artiste touche-à-tout Christian Volckman connaît un succès international sept ans plus tard avec Renaissance. Ambitieux récit de science-fiction intégralement tourné en capture de mouvement, ce premier long-métrage est présélectionné aux Oscars. Après une décennie à œuvrer dans différents domaines, dont le clip musical, Christian Volckman revient au cinéma avec le surprenant The Room, qu’il co-écrit et réalise.

World Sales :

Elle Driver

cast :

Olga Kurylenko, Kevin Janssens, Francis Chapman, Marianne Bourg

Crew :
  • Music : Raf Keunen
  • Cinematographer : Reynald Capurro
  • Editor : Sophie Fourdrinoy